Bartow County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bartow County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Bartow County

Guide to Bartow County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Cartersville
Organized: December 3, 1832
Parent County(s): Cherokee[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cherokee  • Cobb  • Floyd  • Gordon  • Paulding  • Pickens  • Polk
See County Maps
Courthouse
Bartow County Courthouse; Cartersville, Georgia.JPG
Location Map
Georgia Bartow County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Francis S. Bartow and is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Bartow County Courthouse
135 W Cherokee Ave
PO Box 543
Cartersville, GA 30120-0543
Phone: 770-387-5030
Bartow County Website

Probate Court has birth, marriage and probate records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce records from 1862, court records from 1869, land records from 1837 and military discharge records.[3]

Bartow County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1836 1919 1869 1937 1837 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss

1864 During the American Civil War the Cass County (now Bartow County) Courthouse was destroyed on 30 October. Many records were saved, including marriages, deeds, and estate papers.[5]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1832 Originally named Cass County, Bartow County was created 3 December 1832 from Cherokee County territory.
  • County seat: Cartersville[6]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Bartow County, Georgia:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Bartow, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Bartow County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Methodist
Cassville Methodist Church

  • 1887-1916 Cassville Methodist Church Baptism Index 1887-1916. Batch C712071 at FamilySearch[7]
  • 1892-1894 Cassville Methodist Church Marriage Index 1892-1894. Batch M712071 at FamilySearch[8]

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bartow County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Cunyus, Lucy Josephine. The History of Bartow County: Formerly Cass. Cartersville, Ga.: Printed by Tribune Pub. Co., c1933. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps and Gazetteers

Gordon CountyPickens County, Georgia GenealogyCherokee CountyCobb CountyPaulding CountyPolk CountyFloyd CountyGA BARTOW.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Bartow County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bartow County:

- 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), 1st and 2nd Companies E
- 14th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 18th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies F, G, H and K
- 19th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 22nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 23rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 36th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Broyles') (Confederate), Company D
- 40th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and H
- 41st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 54th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)
- 60th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies H and K
- 63rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I


Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Bartow County.


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Bartow County Genealogical Society and Family Research Library
    101 N. Erwin St.
    Cartersville, GA 30120
    Phone: 770-606-0706
    Website

Museums

Societies

  • Bartow County Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 993
    Cartersville, GA 30120-0993
    Website
  • Etowah Valley Family Tree Climbers (Bartow County)
    P.O. Box 1886
    Cartersville, GA 30120

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Bartow, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bartow_County,_Georgia." accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bartow County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 15. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  13. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  14. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.