Barton under Needwood, Staffordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Staffordshire
Staffordshire Parishes
Barton under Needwood


Guide to Barton under Needwood, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barton under Needwood, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Burton upon Trent
Registration District Burton upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tutbury
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office
v • d • e

Parish History

BARTON-UNDER-NEEDWOOD, a parochial chapelry, in the parish of Tatenhill, union of Burtonupon-Trent, N. division of the hundred of Offlowand of the county of Stafford, 6 miles (S. W. by W.) from Burton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District . Staffordshire BMD The registration district prior to 1937 included this parish. From 1937 onwards the Lichfield district was responsible. Registers are now held at The Register Office, The Old Library Building, Bird Street, Lichfield WS 13 6PN Tel. 01543 510773

Church records

Barton under Needwood St James formed 1796 as a chapelry of Tatenhill, Staffordshire

Barton under Needwood chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
BARTON UNDER NEEDWOOD PARISH (1571) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

 Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1571-1812
1571-1812
1571-1812
FS 1571-1868


IARC 1571-1795
1571-1776
1571-1795
IARC 1796-1812

1796-1812
IARC 1571-1812
1571-1812
1571-1812
JOIN
1571-1813

NBI

1571-1884
PALL
1790-1812

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1571-1943 Mar 1571-1939 Bur 1571-1938 Microfilm held only Bap 1888-1943 Mar 1904-1939
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1660-1868 Mar 1660-1837 Bur 1660-1868



Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Barton under Needwood

References

  1. ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 22 October 2013.
  2. ↑ 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 13 September 2013.
  3. ↑ 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. ↑ Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  5. ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  6. ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. ↑ Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
v • d • e
Links to Staffordshire-related articles
Topics
Parishes

Abbots Bromley  • Acton Trussell  • Adbaston  • Aldridge  • Alrewas  • Alrewas Hays  • Alstonfield  • Alton  • Amblecote  • Arley  • Armitage  • Ashley  • Aston  • Audley  • Barlaston  • Barthomley  • Barton under Needwood  • Baswich  • Bednall  • Berkswich with Walton  • Betley  • Biddulph  • Bilston  • Bilston St Luke  • Bilston St Mary  • Blithfield  • Blore Ray  • Bloxwich  • Blurton  • Blymhill  • Bobbington  • Bradley  • Bradley le Moors  • Bramshall  • Brereton  • Brewood  • Brierley Hill  • Brockmoor  • Broughton  • Brown Edge  • Bucknall cum Bagnall  • Burntwood  • Burslem  • Burslem St Paul  • Burton upon Trent Christ Church  • Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity  • Burton upon Trent St Modwen  • Bushbury  • Butterton (near Leek)  • Butterton (near Newcastle under Lyme)  • Calton  • Cannock  • Canwell  • Castle Church  • Cauldon  • Caverswall  • Chapel Chorlton  • Chartley Holme  • Cheadle  • Chebsey  • Checkley  • Cheddleton  • Cheslyn Hay  • Chesterton  • Chilcote  • Church Eaton  • Church Leigh  • Clifton Campville  • Cobridge  • Codsall  • Colton  • Colwich  • Coppenhall  • Coseley  • Cotes Heath  • Cresswell  • Croxall  • Croxden  • Darlaston  • Darlaston St George  • Derrington  • Dilhorne  • Draycott le Moors  • Drayton Bassett  • Dunston  • Eccleshall  • Edensor  • Edingale  • Elford  • Elkstone  • Ellastone  • Ellenhall  • Endon  • Enville  • Etruria  • Ettingshall  • Farewell  • Fazeley  • Fenton  • Forebridge  • Forsbrook  • Forton  • Fradswell  • Freeford  • Freehay  • Fulfen  • Fulford  • Gailey  • Gayton  • Gentleshaw  • Gnosall  • Goldenhill  • Gornal  • Gratwich  • Great Barr  • Great Wyrley  • Grindon  • Hammerwich  • Hamstall Ridware  • Hanbury  • Handsworth St Mary  • Hanford  • Hanley  • Harborne  • Harlaston  • Haselour  • Haughton  • High Offley  • Hilderstone  • Hill Top  • Himley  • Hints  • Hixon  • Hope  • Hopwas Hays  • Horton  • Ilam  • Ingestre  • Ipstones  • Keele  • King's Bromley  • King's Hays Bromley  • Kingsley  • Kingstone  • Kingswinford  • Kingswinford St Mary  • Kinver  • Lapley  • Leek  • Leek St Luke  • Leigh  • Lichfield Cathedral  • Lichfield Christ Church  • Lichfield St Chad  • Lichfield St Mary  • Lichfield St Michael  • Lichfield the Close  • Lichfield the Friary  • Longdon  • Longnor  • Longton  • Madeley  • Maer  • Marchington  • Market Drayton  • Marston with Whitgreave  • Mavesyn Ridware  • Mayfield  • Meerbrook  • Milwich  • Moreton  • Mow Cop  • Moxley  • Mucklestone  • Musden Grange  • Newborough  • Newcastle under Lyme  • Newcastle under Lyme St George  • Newchapel  • Norbury  • North Harborne Holy Trinity  • Northwood  • Norton Canes  • Norton le Moors  • Oakamoor  • Ocker Hill  • Ogley Hay  • Okeover  • Onecote  • Patshull  • Pattingham  • Pelsall  • Penkhull  • Penkridge  • Penn  • Pensnett  • Pipe Ridware  • Quarnford  • Quarry Bank  • Ranton  • Ranton Abbey  • Reddal Hill  • Rocester  • Rolleston  • Rowley Regis  • Rugeley  • Rushall  • Rushton  • Salt  • Sandon  • Scropton  • Sedgley  • Seighford  • Shareshill  • Sheen  • Shelton  • Shenstone  • Sheriffhales  • Smethwick  • Sneyd  • Stafford Christ Church  • Stafford St Chad  • Stafford St Mary  • Standon  • Statfold  • Stoke upon Trent  • Stone  • Stone Christ Church  • Stonnall  • Stowe  • Stretton  • Swynnerton  • Talke  • Tamhorn  • Tamworth  • Tatenhill  • Teddesley Hay  • Tettenhall Regis  • Thorpe Constantine  • Tillington  • Tipton St Martin  • Tipton St Paul  • Tixall  • Trent Vale  • Trentham  • Trysull  • Tunstall Christ Church  • Tutbury  • Upper Gornal  • Upper Tean  • Uttoxeter  • Wall  • Walsall St Matthew  • Walsall St Peter  • Walsall Wood St John  • Warslow  • Waterfall  • Wednesbury St Bartholomew  • Wednesbury St James  • Wednesbury St John  • Wednesfield  • Weeford  • Wellington  • West Bromwich All Saints  • West Bromwich Christ Church  • West Bromwich Holy Trinity  • West Bromwich St James  • Weston under Lizard  • Weston upon Trent  • Wetton  • Whitmore  • Whittington  • Wiggington  • Willenhall Holy Trinity  • Willenhall St Giles  • Willenhall St Stephen  • Wolstanton  • Wolverhampton St Peter  • Wolverhampton St George  • Wolverhampton St James  • Wolverhampton St Mark  • Wolverhampton St Mary  • Wolverhampton St Matthew  • Wolverhampton St Paul  • Wombourn  • Woodford Grange  • Worston  • Wychnor  • Yarlet  • Yoxall

Probate
Courts
Major
 Repositories


Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Barton_under_Needwood,_Staffordshire_Genealogy&oldid=2855505"