Barton Bendish St Mary and All Saints, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Barton Bendhish, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Barton Bendish St Mary and All Saints, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Downham|
|Parish registers: 1726|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1691|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
A Norman church with thatched roof and which lost it's towere in a collapse in the early 18th Century.
The Church is now redundant and in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust.
BARTON-BENDISH, a village and a parish in Downham district, Norfolk. The village stands 5½ miles SSW of Narborough. The living consists of the rectory of St. Mary-with-All Saints, and the rectory of St. Andrew; and is in the diocese of Norwich. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Barton Bendish St Mary and All Saints, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Barton Bendish St Mary and All Saints, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Norfolk Record Office reference PD350/1-9
This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue indicates that the following Archdeacon's transcripts are on film but these have not yet been converted to digital images for publication
|Baptisms and marriages 1726-1812 Burials 1726-1809
||FHL BRITISH Film |
1526807 Item 17
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72. Date accessed: 29 August 2013.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.