Barton, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Barton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Darlington|
|Parish registers: None; Separate registers exist for Barton St Cuthbert beginning 1582; Separate registers exist for Barton St Mary beginning 1619|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None; Separate records exist for Barton St Cuthbert beginning 1616 and for Barton St Mary beginning 1637|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BARTON (St. Mary and St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Darlington, wapentake of Gilling East, N. riding of York, 5 miles (S. W.) from Darlington; containing, with the township of Newton-Morrell and part of Stapleton, 631 inhabitants, of whom 567 are in the township of Barton. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Barton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= findmypast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|BARTON PARISH (1616) Online Records|
||1616, 1666-1667, 1669, 1679-1866||1616-1617, 1675-1871|
|Barton St Cuthbert, Yorkshire Parish Online Records|
|Barton St Mary, Yorkshire Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Church of England records began in 1582 (St. Cuthbert) and 1619 (St. Mary)
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.