To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Barthomley, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Barthomley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barthomley, Cheshire
St Bertoline Church Barthomley.jpg
St Bertoline Church Barthomley
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nantwich; North Pirehill
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich
Registration District Congleton; Nantwich; Newcastle under Lyme
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562; Separate registers exist for Alsager beginning 1789 and for Crewe beginning 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599; Separate records exist for Alsager beginning 1789
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nantwich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Part of this parish is in Staffordshire, see alsoBarthomley, Staffordshire.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BARTHOMLEY, a township in Nantwich district, Cheshire, and a parish in Nantwich and Congleton districts, Cheshire, and in Newcastle-under-Lyne district, Stafford. The township lies adjacent to the North Stafford railway, 1 mile S by W of Radway-Green station, and 5 SE of Crewe; and has a post office under Crewe. The parish includes also the townships of Crewe, Haslington, and Alsager in Cheshire, and the township of Batterley in Staffordshire. The chapelries of Alsager, Crewe-Green, and Haslington, are separate benefices (which also see).[1]

St Bertoline's Church, Barthomley is in the village of Barthomley, Cheshire and is an Ancient parish, which is partly in Cheshire and partly in Staffordshire.
The church stands in an elevated position on Barrow Hill, which was an ancient burial ground. It was the scene of a massacre in the Civil War.
The nave and tower date from the late 15th century and the Crewe chapel from about 1528. There was a restoration of the church between 1852 and 1854.
On Christmas Eve 1643, during the civil war, the church was the scene of a massacre.

Barthomley was an ancient parish within Cheshire. It contained five townships: Alsager, Balterley, Barthomley itself, Crewe, and Haslington. Of these, Balterley township and (now) civil parish was and is entirely in the neighbouring county of Staffordshire, and Crewe was later renamed Crewe Green to avoid confusion with the neighbouring unparished borough and railway town. All five townships were made separate civil parishes in 1866.

The Cheshire part of the ancient parish lay within Nantwich Hundred, Nantwich Poor Law Union, and Nantwich Rural Sanitary District, whilst the Staffordshire part lay in North Pirehill hundred, Newcastle under Lyme Poor Law Union and Rural Sanitary District. Later on, the modern civil parish (now entirely in Cheshire) was part of Nantwich Rural District.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Barthomley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Barthomley Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

  • Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Protestant Dissenters
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Non-Conformists records at the Family History Library:

Church records for the Primitive Methodists Church Alsager  Baptisms, 1863-1967. Film 2299417 Item 14

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts [edit | edit source]

  •  Nantwich (1837–1937)
  •  Crewe (1937–74)
  •  Congleton & Crewe (1974–88)
  •  South Cheshire (1988–98)
  •  Cheshire Central (post1998) The post 2009 reorganisation of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD

Poor-Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites [edit | edit source]

Barthomley in GENUKI

References
[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 12 March 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk


Bibliography[edit | edit source]

  •  Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 43–47
  • Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 22, ISBN 1871731232
  •  Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, pp. 103–104, ISBN 0 907768 18 0
  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 71–72, ISBN 0 300 09588 0