To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bartholomew County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bartholomew County, Indiana)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bartholomew County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Bartholomew County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 8, 1821
County Seat Columbus
Courthouse
Address Bartholomew County Courthouse
440 3rd St; PO Box 924
Columbus, IN 47202-0924
Phone 812.379.1600
Bartholomew County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1882 1821 1882 1821 1821 1821 1807
Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.
  • Parent Counties: Formed January 8, 1821 from Delaware New Purchase [2]
  • County Seat: Columbus [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Lt Col Joseph Bartholomew; who was wounded at the Battle of Tippecanoe. It's county seat is Columbus and was founded 1821.[4] It is located in the Southcentral area of the state.[5]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Jackson  • Jennings  • Decatur  • Shelby  • Johnson  • Brown

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Biographical Record of Bartholomew County, Indiana. 1904. B.F. Bowen, Publ. Online at: Google Books

Business Records[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
INGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Indiana Interment
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Bartholomew County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints[edit | edit source]

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Columbus
Lutheran[edit | edit source]

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Histories[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Bartholomew County, Indiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. Online County Histories

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records[edit source]

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bartholomew County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

Johnson CountyShelby CountyDecatur CountyJennings CountyJackson CountyBrown CountyIN BARTHOLOMEW.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Bartholomew County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Bartholomew County.


Civil War Book


"Military History"  Chapter 6 in History of Bartholomew County, Indiana: From the Earliest Time to the Present, with Biographical Sketches, Notes, Etc. : Together with a Short History of the Northwest, the Indiana Territory, and the State of Indiana.(Chicago: Brant & Fuller, 1888.),( page 431-469, Regiment, Companies)   977.224 H2h v. 1 & v.2 FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection  FamilySearch Books Online  INTERNET ARCHIVE

World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918[edit | edit source]
World War II, 1941-1945[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Bartholomew County, Indiana Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings. The Indiana Division of the Indiana State Library has the state’s largest newspaper collection. Their newspaper microfilms are available through inter-library loan. For a county-by-county inventory of their 16,500 reels of Indiana newspaper microfilms, see their Indiana Collection.

Other places to access newspapers are Newspaper Archive ($)(may be free at your local library), public librariescollege or university libraries, the Library of Congress, or Google News.

For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Online Probate Records

Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bartholomew County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records[edit | edit source]

School Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Courthouse[edit | edit source]

County Clerk has marriage, probate, and court records from 1821,
Some naturalization, cemetery and military records.
County Recorder has land records from 1821.
Vital Statistics has birth and death records from 1882 [7]

Archives[edit | edit source]
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]

Bartholomew Historical Society
524 Third Street
Columbus, IN 47201
Telephone Number: 812-372-3541
Fax: 812-372-3113
E-mail: info@bartholomewhistory.org
Website

Bartholomew Genealogical Society
PO Box 2455
Columbus, IN 47202
Website

Bartholomew County Archives Department
234 Washington Street
Columbus, IN 47201
Telephone Number: 812-379-1503

Bartholomew County Historian
1130 Franklin St.
Columbus, IN 47201-5710
Telephone Number: 812-376-8826
E-mail:harry@therepublic.com

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the family history center directory.

Public Records[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bartholomew County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Bartholomew County, Indiana Genealogy County Clerk with divorce records located with the Bartholomew County, Indiana Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bartholomew County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Websites[edit | edit source]

Places[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bartholomew County, Indiana. Page 211-218 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 208-211.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Bartholomew County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bartholomew_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  4. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Bartholomew County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ind/bartholomew/ accessed 2/27/2017.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Bartholomew County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bartholomew_County,_Indiana accessed 2/27/2017.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/91/Igiindiana.pdf.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bartholomew County, Indiana 211 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.