Barsby, Leicestershire Genealogy
Guide to Barsby, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Melton Mowbray|
|Registration District||Melton Mowbray|
|Parish registers: 1813; For records see Ashby Folville|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Rothley|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BARSBY, a chapelry, in the parish of Ashby-Folville, union of Melton-Mowbray, hundred of EastGoscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 6 miles (S. W. by S.) from Melton-Mowbray.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Barsby, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Barsby, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: For barsby refer to Ashby Folville, Leicestershire records
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.