Barron County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Barron County


Guide to Barron County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Barron
Organized: March 4, 1869
Parent County(s): Dallas[1]
Neighboring Counties
Burnett  • Chippewa  • Dunn  • Polk  • Rusk  • St. Croix  • Sawyer  • Washburn
See County Maps
Courthouse
Cumberland Public Library Barron County WI.JPG
Location Map
WI Barron.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Henry D. Barron. The County has Barron as its seat and the County was created 1874. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Barron County Courthouse
330 E La Salle Avenue
Barron, WI 54812-1591
Phone: 715-537-6200
Barron County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records.
Register in Probate has probate records.[3]

Barron County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1877 1868 1877 1874 1870 1880 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Missing: original Death Books from Barron County Deeds Office: Vol. C, Vol. E.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1869 - Barron County was created 4 March 1869 by the renaming of Dallas County.
  • County seat: Barron[5]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Barron County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 13
1870 538 4038.5%
1880 7,024 1205.6%
1890 15,416 119.5%
1900 23,677 53.6%
1910 29,114 23.0%
1920 34,281 17.7%
1930 34,301 0.1%
1940 34,289 −0.0%
1950 34,703 1.2%
1960 34,270 −1.2%
1970 33,955 −0.9%
1980 38,730 14.1%
1990 40,750 5.2%
2000 44,963 10.3%
2010 45,870 2.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Barron census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

State Census

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Directory of Churches in Barron WI

Barron County Churches Part of the Wisconsin GenWeb Project

Lutheran

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Burnett CountySawyer CountyRusk CountyChippewa CountyDunn CountySt. Croix CountyPolk CountyWashburn CountyWI BARRON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Barron County WI Map 1888

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War I

Regiments. Service men in Barron served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Barron:

World War II

Barron County Army Enlistees

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Barron County News-Shield: established in 1876

Barron County News: established in 1900

Newspapers on film available: 6 Oct 1876 - May 2009

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Barron Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Barron Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

  • Barron County database: Index to birth, marriages, death, and divorce records from local newspapers and covers the years 1900-1950.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • University Archives/Area Research Center
    Robert S. Swanson Library, University of Wisconsin, Stout
    315 Tenth Ave.
    Menomonie, WI 54751
    Phone: 715-232-2300
    Email: archives@uwstout.edu
    Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Barron Public Library
    10 North 3rd St
    Barron, WI 54812
    Phone: 715-537-3881
    Website
    This site has links to genealogy information.
  • Robert S. Swanson Library, University of Wisconsin, Stout
    University Archives/Area Research Center
    315 Tenth Ave.
    Menomonie, WI 54751
    Phone: 715-232-2300
    Email: archives@uwstout.edu
    Website

Museums

  • Barron County Historical Society Museum
    1870 13 1/2 Ave
    Cameron, WI 54822-9511
    Website

Societies

  • Barron County Historical Society
    1870 13 1/2 Ave
    Cameron, WI 54822-9511
    Website
  • Blue Hills Genealogical Society-Barron County, Inc.
    PO Box 383
    Cameron, WI 54822
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Barron County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barron_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Barron County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Bannon County, Wisconsin," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barron_County,_Wisconsin#Communities, accessed 23 July 2018.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.