Barnston, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Barnston, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Barnston


Guide to Barnston, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barnston, Essex
St Mary, Barnston, Essex .jpg
St Mary, Barnston, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dunmow
County Essex
Poor Law Union Dunmow
Registration District Dunmow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunmow
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

BARNSTON, a parish, in the union and hundred of Dunmow, N. division of Essex, 2¼ miles (S. E.) from Dunmow; containing 197 inhabitants. The manor was held by Hugh de Berners and his descendants for many generations, and from them obtained its name Bernerstown, now corrupted into Bernston or Barnston. The parish is pleasantly situated on the river Chelmer. The church is an ancient edifice in the Norman style; the steeple was destroyed by lightning in 1665. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Barnston, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
Barnston, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD Pre-1800
ESSEX 1539-1971 1539-1836 1539-1992
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
NBI 1539-1992
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Dunmow Poor Law Union,Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Barnston on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1848. Adapted: date accessed: 22 May 2013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.