Barnsley, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Barnsley, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Gloucestershire
Gloucestershire Parishes
Barnsley

Guide to Barnsley, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barnsley, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brightwells-Barrow
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Cirencester
Registration District Cirencester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1574
Bishop's Transcripts: A few
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fairford
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Bibury
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

BARNSLEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Cirencester, hundred of Brightwell's-Barrow, E.division of the county of Gloucester, 4¼ miles (E. N. E.) from Cirencester. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Barnsley, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[6]
Barnsley, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1653-1812 1653-1812 1653-1753 1653-1753 1653-1812 1653-1812
AC 1813-1919, 1925-1929 1813-1919, 1925-1929 1758-1938 1758-1938 1813-1988 1813-1988
FHSO 1800-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


Add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.