Barnoldswick, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Barnoldswick, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Staincliff and Ewcross|
|Poor Law Union||Skipton|
|Parish registers: 1587|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1598|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Barnoldswick|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BARNOLDSWICK (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Skipton, E. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York, 9 miles (W. S. W.) from Skipton; containing 2844 inhabitants, of whom 1849 are in the township of Barnoldswick. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.
Barnoldswick is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Admergill, Brogden, Brogden with Admergill, Satterforth, Coates, Salterforth, and Brogden with Admerlgill. Parish Records began 1587 Bishops Transcripts 1598. Non-Church of England denominations identified in Barnoldswick include: Baptist, Inghamite, Society of Friends/Quaker, and Wesleyan Methodist. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Barlby exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|BARNOLDSWICK PARISH (1587) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Travis, John: Sutcliffe of Todmorden. History and family tree of John Sutcliffe and Grace Thwaite originally from Barnoldswick, Lancashire/Yorkshire border - with the following surnames: Turner, Bottomley, Crabtree, Overend, Hartley, Dugdale, Shackleton, Earnshaw, Marshall, Ryder, Uttley, Ashworth, Ayrton, Jackson, Dawson, Crowther, French, Barnes, Walley, Challenger, Law Ogden, Woodhead, Hole, Nash dating from 1744-1975 to be found in Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine vol.6. no.4, pages17-20. FHL Ref 942.72 B2r
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.