Barnard Castle, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Barnard Castle

Guide to Barnard Castle, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barnard Castle, Durham
St Mary Barnard Castle County Durham.jpg
St Mary Barnard Castle County Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Teesdale
Registration District Teesdale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1609
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BARNARD-CASTLE, a market-town and chapelry, in the parish of Gainford, union of Teesdale, SW division of Darlington ward, S division of the county of Durham, 25 miles SW by W from Durham, and 244 NNW from London. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information: Barnard Castle St Mary was created in 1723 from a 12th century chapelry in Gainford Ancient Parish.

The medieval history of the town is dominated by the castle and the Balliol family who owned it. The castle was built in the late 11th century. When the castle was built it outer defenses may have surrounded the small church of St Margaret, which was probably the parish church. A new parish church, dedicated to St Mary was built outside the walls. The Church of St Mary is believed to have been built in the twelfth century. It was a chapelry. It was not the only religious establishment in the town. In around 1230 a small hospital was founded on Newgate Street. It had its own chapel.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Barnard Castle parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Northumberland and Durham Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Durham Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
FS BTs = England, Durham Diocese Bishop's Transcripts, 1639-1919 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Marr Img = England, Durham Diocese, Calendar of Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1594-1815 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Marr = England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1692-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
Barnard Castle Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1990
1538-1989
1538-2000
TGEN 1559-1800s
1558-1800s
1559-1800s
JOIN

1619-1837


FS BTs
1639-1919
1639-1919
1639-1919
FS Marr Img


1594-1815

FS Marr

1692-1900


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1559-1999
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.

Old Parish Table[edit | edit source]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/17 Date: 1762-1846  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1609-1954 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/BC).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)


Non Conformist Records[edit | edit source]
  • Congregational Church: Baptisms, marriages & burials 1806-1908 copies of pre-1837 baptism registers are available (M5/1-5).
  • Methodist:
  1. Barnard Castle Circuit (Primitive): Baptisms 1831-1934
  2. Barnard Castle Circuit (Wesleyan): Baptisms 1803-1957, Marriages 1849-1882
  3. Newgate: Baptisms 1953-1974
  • Roman Catholic
  1. Catholic Church: Baptisms, marriages and burials 1847-1974
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Society of Friends (Quaker)
  • Unitarian

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Teesdale Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Barnard Castle on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk