To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Barnard's Inn, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

London Barnard's Inn ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barnard's Inn, London
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Inns of Court and Chancery
County London
Poor Law Union West London
Registration District West London
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

'Barnard's or Bernard's Inn, Holborn, is situated on the south side of Holborn, westward of Fetter Lane, and near Dyer's Buildings. it was anciently called Mackworth;s Inn, having been the residence  of De John Mackworth, who was dean of Lincoln in the reign of Henry VI; but being afterwards in possessionof a gentleman of the name of Barnard, it received his name. It was given to the society by Dr Mackworth's executors in 1454. This is one of the Inns of court of Chancery, and consists of a principal and three anciens, besides other members...'[1]


1848 parish descripton
Bernard’s Inn is an extra-parochial parish, in the city Without the Walls.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Barnard's Inn is an extra-parochial parish. For church records, look at surrounding parishes.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists[edit | edit source]

1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Holy Trinity Gough Square.png

Websites[edit | edit source]

Barnard's Inn in Inns of Court on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 27 December 2013.