Barmby Moor, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Barmby Moor, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Barmby Moor, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Pocklington|
|Parish registers: 1720|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Rural Deanery||Harthill and Hull|
|Probate Court||1610-1736 - Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Barmby Moor; Post-1736 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BARMBY-on-the-Moor (St. Catherine), a parish, in Pocklington district, Wilton-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, East Riding Yorkshire, 1¾ mile W from Pocklington; containing 475 inhabitants. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists and Friends/Quaker.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Barmby Moor (1720) Online Parish Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1720.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 145-148. Date accessed: 07 January 2014
- 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.