Barcombe, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Barcombe, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Chailey|
|Parish registers: 1580|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
BARCOMBE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Chailey, hundred of Barcombe, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 4 miles (N. by E.) from Lewes; Achapel was built at Spithurst in 1841.
Barcombe is an Ancient Parish which includes Barcombe Cross, Barcombe Mills Spithurst and Town Littleworth. The history of St Francis Mission Church and the parish church can be found Sussex Parish Churches. The parish church of St Mary has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building. See also Barcombe Wikipedia
Land Tax 1785. A list of owners and occupiers and places within the Parish. Article to be found in the Sussex Family Historian vol. 1. #3. Dec. 1973, pages 7-10, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 B2su
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
The Register Office
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Barcombe, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Barcombe, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Barcombe
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 136-141. Date Accessed: 16 September 2013
- Barcombe St mary Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.