Barbour County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Barbour County

Guide to Barbour County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Philippi
Organized: March 3, 1843
Parent County(s): Randolph, Harrison, Lewis[1]
Neighboring Counties
Harrison  • Preston  • Randolph  • Taylor  • Tucker  • Upshur
See County Maps
Courthouse
Barbour County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Wv-barbour.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Philip Pendleton Barbour. The County has Philippi as its seat and the County was created March 3, 1843. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Barbour County Courthouse
8 N Main Street
Philippi, WV 26416
Phone: 304-457-2232
Barbour County Website

  • County Clerk has birth, marriage, death since 1853
  • Probate Record and land records from 1845
  • Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records

Barbour County, West Virginia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1843 1843 1843 1850

Record Loss

1904 Death Records are missing for the year 1904.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[4]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Barbour County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Barbour census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1850 9,005
1860 8,958 −0.5%
1870 10,312 15.1%
1880 11,870 15.1%
1890 12,702 7.0%
1900 14,198 11.8%
1910 15,858 11.7%
1920 18,028 13.7%
1930 18,628 3.3%
1940 19,869 6.7%
1950 19,745 −0.6%
1960 15,474 −21.6%
1970 14,030 −9.3%
1980 16,639 18.6%
1990 15,699 −5.6%
2000 15,557 −0.9%
2010 16,589 6.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


Church Records

Court Records

Court Petitions

  • Eckenrode, H.J. Virginia State Library: A Calendar of Legislative Petitions Arranged by Counties Accomac - Bedford. Richmond, Va.: Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing, 1908. Digital version at Google Books. Barbour County petitions (1843-1858) are described on pp. 186-194.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Coberly - Harter, Mary. "James Cunningham of Western Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 29, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1985):9-16; Vol. 29, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1985):109-116. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 29 (1985).
  • Male - Mayhle, Bernard Victor. The Males of Barbour County, West Virginia. 1983.
  • Male - Barnett, Glenn W. Mayle-Male-Male Family Kinship: Four Generations of Descendants of Mary Elizabeth Male nee Cockit.
  • Male - Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland, and Delaware (2005). Digital version online
  • Male - Finley, Alexandra. "Founding Chestnut Ridge: The Origins of Central West Virginia's Community," Senior Honor's Thesis, The Ohio State University (2010). Digital version online.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Barbour County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Preston CountyTucker CountyRandolph CountyUpshur CountyHarrison CountyTaylor CountyWV BARBOUR.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Go here for general Military Records of West Virginia

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Barbour served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Barbour County:

- 20th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company D.[5].
- 31st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Barbour Greys) and Company K (Potomac Guards or Mountain Guards).[6]
- 62nd Regiment, Virginia Mounted Infantry (Confederate). Company E.[7]

Records and histories are available, including:

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Barbour County.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Barbour County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barbour_County,_West_Virginia."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Barbour County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barbour_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 28 June 2018.
  5. Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
  6. John M. Ashcraft, 31st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 48.
  7. Roger U. Delauter, 62nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 41.
  8. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)


Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Barbour_County,_West_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=3306548"