To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bangor, Gwynedd, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

A guide to genealogy in Bangor, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Bangor is a city, community and ecclesiastical parish in Gwynedd, Wales.

Before 1974 the city was in the historic county of Caernarfonshire and, between 1874 and 1996 in the County of Gwynedd. In 1996 it became part of the modern County of Gwynedd.

History[edit | edit source]

BANGOR, a city, port, parish, and, jointly with Beaumaris, the head of a union, in the hundred of Isgorvai, county of Carnarvon, North Wales, 9 miles (N. E.) from Carnarvon, and 238 (N. W. by W.) from London. The CATHEDRAL CHURCH, dedicated to St. Daniel, and, after repeated demolitions, principally rebuilt and restored by the liberality of Bishops Dean and Skeffington, is a cruciform and embattled structure, chiefly in the later style of English architecture, displaying portions in the early and decorated English styles, with a low massive embattled tower at the west end. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists, and Roman Catholics.[1]

In 1887: Bangor.-- par., parl. bor., and market town, Carnarvonsh., near Menai Strait, 60 m. W. of Chester and 238 m. NW. of London by rail -- par., 7543 ac., pop. 11,370; parl. bor., pop. 9026; 3 Banks, 2 newspapers.Market-days, Tuesday and Friday. It is much resorted to for sea-bathing and the beautiful scenery around it. The see of B. is the oldest in Wales; the cathedral is an interesting building. Slate is extensively quarried for exportation. B. is one of the Carnarvon dist. Of parliamentary boroughs, and with Carnarvon, Conway, Criccieth, Nevin, and Pwllheli returns 1 member to Parl. [John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)]

For more information see:Genuki - Bangor

Administration[edit | edit source]

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Caernarfonshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Gwynedd
from 1 April 1996 Gwynedd

Records[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1846). Adapted. Date accessed: 5 September 2014.