Bandera County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bandera County, Texas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Texas
Bandera County

Guide to Bandera County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

TX ORP.png



Bandera County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Bandera County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 26, 1856
County Seat Bandera
Courthouse
TexasBanderaCourthouse.jpg
Address Bandera County Courthouse
Bandera, TX 78003
Phone: 830.796.3332
Bandera County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Txgenweblogo.GIF This page adopted by:
TXGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse



County District Clerk has birth and death records from 1904,
m, div, land, pro, ct & nat rec from 1856 & mil dis rec from 1900[1]


Bandera County has had two courthouses.  The first one, built of limestone in 1869, is now a library.  It is located on Maple Street, a block from the current courthouse.  The current courthouse, also made from limestone, was built in 1890.

County Information

Bandera County Courthouse
County Clerk
500 Main Street
P. O. Box 823
Bandera, Texas 78003

District Clerk

P.O. Box 2688
Bandera 78003
Phone: 830-796-4606


The Bandera County Clerk's Office

Inventory of the county archives of Texas : Bandera County, 1940. Inventory of records of housed in the Bandera County Courthouse as of 1936. Describes the records of the Commissioners Court, County Clerk as Recorder, District Court, County Court, Justice of the Peace Court, Sheriff, Tax Assessor-Collector, Board of Equalization, County Treasurer, County Board of School Trustees, County School Superintendent, County Surveyor, and Inspector of Hides and Animals (Defunct). Read the book online from The Portal to Texas History.

History and Photographs of the Bandera County Courthouse

Bandera County, Texas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1903 1856 1860 1837 1856

History

Parent County

1856--Bandera County was created 26 January 1856 from Bexar Land District.

  • County seat: Bandera [2]

The county's name is derived from Spanish for "flag."

Bandera County History and Information

Boundary Changes

See an interactive map of Bandera County border changes.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Towns and Cities: Bandera | Lakehills | Medina | Vanderpool

Bandera County Towns and Geographical Places

Neighboring Counties

Bexar  • *Kendall • Kerr • Medina • Real • Uvalde

Real CountyKerr CountyKendall CountyBandera CountyUvalde CountyMedina CountyComal CountyBexar CountyTX Bandera 1.JPG
About this image

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
TX Gravestones WorldCat Tombstone Project
Billion Graves (name) Cemeteries of TX
USGW Archives Texas Cemeteries
Billion Graves (cemetery) Linkpendium
USGW Cemeteries Epodunk
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Naturalization and Citizenship

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bandera County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

Maps

Txbandera.jpg

Military

Mexican-American War
Civil War

Online Records

World War I

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bandera County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Off-line Newspaper Information


Online Newspapers

Online Newspaper Abstracts

Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Online Newspaper Archives

Wikipedia has a list of online newspaper archives for Texas.

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Societies and Libraries

Lakehills Genealogy Society of Bandera County, Texas
7200 FM 1283
Lakehills, TX 78063
website

Medina Genealogy and Historical Society
Medina Community Library
PO Box 181
Medina, TX 78055
Telephone Number: 830-589-2825
website


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

  • Bandera County TXGenWeb
  • TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
  • Cyndi's List -  Links to state and county resources

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bandera County, Texas. Page 658 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).