To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Banbury, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Banbury, Oxfordshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Banbury, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Banbury; King's-Sutton
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Banbury
Registration District Banbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606; 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Deddington
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Banbury; Court of the Peculiar of Aylesbury
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BANBURY (St. Mary),a borough, market-town,and parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in the hundred of Banbury, county of Oxford, but partly in that of King's-Sutton, S. division of the county of Northampton, 22 miles(N.) from Oxford, and 69(N. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Calvinists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Presbyterians, and others; and a handsome and commodious Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Other places in the parish include: Wykham, Calthorpe, Wickham, Neithrop, and Hardwick. Genuki.co.uk provides a lengthy description of this parish.

Peter Cook has created a names database of those in Banbury which is hosted on Genuki.co.uk.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Banbury is located in the Banbury Registration District.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Banbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC 1 = Oxfordshire, England, Church of England Baptism, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Oxfordshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP = Oxfordshire Marriage Bonds 1634-1849 (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - ($) Results delivered by email.
Banbury Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1915
1754-1930
1813-1965
FMP

1634-1849


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog BTs


OFHS 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Oxfordshire History Centre.

Census records[edit | edit source]

a.

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.



To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.
findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 136-141. Date accessed: 18 September 2012.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

A Selection of Useful Sites for Banbury