To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Banbury, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Banbury, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Banbury, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Banbury; King's-Sutton
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Banbury
Registration District Banbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606; 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Deddington
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Banbury; Court of the Peculiar of Aylesbury
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BANBURY (St. Mary),a borough, market-town,and parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in the hundred of Banbury, county of Oxford, but partly in that of King's-Sutton, S.division of the county of Northampton, 22 miles(N.) from Oxford, and 69(N. W.) from London; containing, the township of Neithrop and the hamlets of Grimsbury and Nethercote. There are places of worship for Calvinists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Presbyterians, and others; and a handsome and commodious Roman Catholic chapel recently erected. [1]

Additional information:

Banbury is an Ancient Parish partly in Northamptonshire and mostly in Oxfordshire (which see). Other places in the parish include: Wykham, Calthorpe, Wickham, Neithrop, and Hardwick. Genuki.co.uk provides a lengthly description of this location. Peter Cook has created a names index of those in Banbury which is hosted on Genuki.co.uk. In 1853 a chapel was built to ease the population growth and meet the spiritual needs of the local inhabitants in Neithrop, called St Paul's Chapel.


Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Banbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
ANC 1 = Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1532-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP = Northamptonshire Marriages and Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Banbury Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
ANC 1 1532-1812
1532-1812
1532-1812
ANC 2 1813-1912
1754-1912
1813-1912
FMP

1538-1921
1525-2006
JOIN

1538-1837


NBI



1561-2001
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Northamptonshire Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 0474571.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.
findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 31 December November 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

Banbury Past Through Artist's Eyes