To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bampton Proper, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Bampton Proper, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bampton Proper, Oxfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bampton
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Witney
Registration District Witney
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1680
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Witney
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BAMPTON, an ancient village or township, a parish, a subdistrict, and a hundred, in Oxford. The village stands on a small tributary of the Thames, 5½ miles SSW of Witney r. station, and 6 N NE of Faringdon. It was formerly called Bampton-in-the-Bush; and is sometimes designated, in union with the hamlet of Weald, as Bampton-with-Weald.[1]

Bampton Proper is an Ecclesiastical Parish and a market town in the county of Oxfordshire, created in 1845 from Bampton Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Weald. St. Mary is the name of the parish church. A Church Near You provides additional information. A photo of the church is available on the Sacred Destinations website.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Bampton Proper parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC 1 = Oxfordshire, England, Church of England Baptism, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Oxfordshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP = Oxfordshire Marriage Bonds 1634-1849 (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - ($) Results delivered by email.
Bampton Proper Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1915
1754-1930
1813-1965
FMP

1634-1849


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog BTs


OFHS 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Oxfordshire History Centre.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


 

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Reference
[edit | edit source]

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk