Ballard County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Ballard County

Guide to Ballard County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Wickliffe
Organized: February 15, 1842
Parent County(s): Hickman, McCracken[1]
Neighboring Counties
Alexander (IL)  • Carlisle  • Graves  • Massac (IL)  • McCracken  • Mississippi (MO)  • Pulaski (IL)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Ballard County Courthouse, Wickliffe, KY
Location Map
Ballard County svg.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Ballard County KY

County Information

Description

The County was named for Bland Ballard. The County has Wickliffe as its seat and the County was created 1842. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Ballard County Courthouse
132 4th Street
Wickliffe, KY 42087
Phone: 270-335-5168[3]
Ballard County Website

Ballard County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1880 1853 1842 1880 1842 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss

1880--A fire destroyed most records, but many land documents were re-entered into the court files in the next several years. See extracts from many of those files on land records at KYGenWeb Project, Ballard County, Kentucky

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1842--Ballard County was created 15 February 1842 from Hickman and McCracken Counties. Ballard County lies in the Jackson Purchase region of far western Kentucky.
  • 1886--Carlisle County was created entirely from Ballard County on May 3, 1886.
  • County seat: Wickliffe[5]

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • All of the family biographies from the 1885 History of Ballard County, Kentucky by Battle, Perrin, and Kniffin are available free online on My Genealogy Hound

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Ballard, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Ballard county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1850 5,496
1860 8,692 58.2%
1870 12,576 44.7%
1880 14,378 14.3%
1890 8,390 −41.6%
1900 10,761 28.3%
1910 12,690 17.9%
1920 12,045 −5.1%
1930 9,910 −17.7%
1940 9,480 −4.3%
1950 8,545 −9.9%
1960 8,291 −3.0%
1970 8,276 −0.2%
1980 8,798 6.3%
1990 7,902 −10.2%
2000 8,286 4.9%
2010 8,249 −0.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Ballard County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Ballard County Courthouse
132 North 4th Street
Wickliffe, KY 42087
Phone: 270-335-5168

Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and probate records.[3]

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  • Indexes to Deeds, KYGenWeb: After the courthouse fire in 1880, many land transactions were re-recorded. Many are indexed and extracted here.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Ballard County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Alexander CountyPulaski CountyMassac CountyMissouriMississippi CountyMcCracken CountyCarlisle CountyGraves CountyKY BALLARD.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Ballard County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 12th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate), Company D

Korean War

Vietnam War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ballard County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

  • Ballard County, KY: medical account book of Dr. W.A. Moffitt of Kevil, KY, by Don Simmons. Publisher Simmons Historical Publications, 1993.

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Ballard County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Ballard County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Ballard County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Ballard County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

  • 1852-1859 - Ballard County Birth Index 1852-1859. Batch C517041 at FamilySearch - free.[7]
  • 1874 - Ballard County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517042 at FamilySearch - free.
  • 1875 - Ballard County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517043 at FamilySearch - free.

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Ballard/Carlisle/Livingston Public Library Central Library
    257 North Fourth Street
    Wickliffe, KY 42087
    Phone: 270-335-5059
    Facebook

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Ballard County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ballard_County,_Kentucky."
  3. 3.0 3.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ballard County, Kentucky. Page 268-276 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 251-254.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Ballard County, Kentucky," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ballard_County,_Kentucky, accessed 2 August 2018.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f1/Igikentuckyaf.pdf.




Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Ballard_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3338943"