Baldhu, Cornwall Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cornwall
Cornwall Parishes
Baldhu

Guide to Baldhu, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Baldhu, Cornwall
The disused church of St Michael and All Angels, Baldhu Cornwall.jpg
The disused church of St Michael and All Angels, Baldhu Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Powder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Truro
Registration District Truro
Records begin
Parish registers: 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powder
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Parish History

BALDHU, an ecclesiastical parish, in the parishes of Kenwyn and Kea, union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall, 3½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Truro.[1]

Baldhu St Michael and All Angels was an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1847 from Kenwyn, Cornwall Ancient Parish, Kea, Cornwall chapelry, and Chacewater, Cornwall Ecclesiastical Parish. The architect was William White. The parish includes Bissoe.

The church is now disused isolated from any settlement after the decline of it's previous mining community. In the churchyard is the grave of "Billy" Bray. William Trewartha Bray (1 June 1794 – 25 May 1868) was a 19th century Cornish preacher born at Twelveheads, a village in the parish of Kea, near Truro, Cornwall.

His grandfather and father were pious Methodists, but his father died when his children were young. In early adulthood Billy Bray lived a drunken life; he was converted through reading John Bunyan's "Visions of Heaven; and Visions of Hell". He then became attached to a group of Methodists known as the Bible Christians, and became a well known but unconventional preacher.

In 1984, the Anglican ecclesiastical parish of Baldhu was united with All Saints, Highertown, Truro.

Neighboring Parishes

England Jurisdictions 1851 may be used to locate nearby parishes by clicking the "Options" tab and selecting "List contiguous parishes." 

Kenwyn, Cornwall Mithian, Cornwall Chacewater, Cornwall St Day, Cornwall Gwennap, Cornwall Perranarworthal, Cornwall Feock, Cornwall Kea, Cornwall

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Truro Registration District to 1974

Church records

Baldhu parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cornwall Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Mar = England, Devon and Cornwall Marriages, 1660-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerk - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cornwall Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Cornwall Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Baldhu Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2010
1538-2010
1538-2010
FS Mar

1660-1912


FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1916
1538-1839
1538-1928
TGEN 1540-1800s
1537-1800s


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cornwall Record Office.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Baldhu.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Truro Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Baldhu in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (18 Date accessed: 06 March 2013
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Cornwall) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk