Baldhu, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to Baldhu, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
The disused church of St Michael and All Angels, Baldhu Cornwall
|Poor Law Union||Truro|
|Parish registers: 1847|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
BALDHU, an ecclesiastical parish, in the parishes of Kenwyn and Kea, union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall, 3½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Truro.
Baldhu St Michael and All Angels was an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1847 from Kenwyn, Cornwall Ancient Parish, Kea, Cornwall chapelry, and Chacewater, Cornwall Ecclesiastical Parish. The architect was William White. The parish includes Bissoe.
The church is now disused isolated from any settlement after the decline of it's previous mining community. In the churchyard is the grave of "Billy" Bray. William Trewartha Bray (1 June 1794 – 25 May 1868) was a 19th century Cornish preacher born at Twelveheads, a village in the parish of Kea, near Truro, Cornwall.
His grandfather and father were pious Methodists, but his father died when his children were young. In early adulthood Billy Bray lived a drunken life; he was converted through reading John Bunyan's "Visions of Heaven; and Visions of Hell". He then became attached to a group of Methodists known as the Bible Christians, and became a well known but unconventional preacher.
In 1984, the Anglican ecclesiastical parish of Baldhu was united with All Saints, Highertown, Truro.
England Jurisdictions 1851 may be used to locate nearby parishes by clicking the "Options" tab and selecting "List contiguous parishes."
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Truro Registration District to 1974
Baldhu, Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free|
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Baldhu, Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearchunder Records (formerly Record Search). Images refer to Cornwall County Record Office reference P 9.
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks
The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Baldhu.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Baldhu in GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (18 Date accessed: 06 March 2013
- 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
- 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
- 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.