To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Balderton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Balderton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Balderton, Nottinghamshire
Balderton St Giles Nottinghamshire.jpg
Balderton St Giles Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newark
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Newark
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BALDERTON (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Newark, S. division of the wapentake of Newark and of the county of Nottingham, 2 miles (S. E.) from Newark.[1]

Additional information:

Balderton St Giles is an Ancient parish in one of the largest villages in Nottinghamshire.

The church dates from the 12th century and was restored in 1880 and has been designated as a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building Southwell and Nottingham Church History project are researching the history of the parish Balderton St Giles

The parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with Lincolnshire and is so extensive that it neighbours 4 Lincolnshire parishes.

RAF Balderton opened in 1941 as an air base Balderton was known as USAAF Station AAF-482 for security reasons by the USAAF during the war, and by which it was referred to instead of location. It's USAAF Station Code was "BD".

Balderton Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district

Certificates can be obtained from:

Newark
The Register Office
County Offices
Balderton Gate
Newark
NG24 1UW
01636 705455
01636 679259
newarkro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records[edit | edit source]

Balderton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Nottinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC = Nottinghamshire, England, Extracted Church of England Parish Records, 1538-1837 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Balderton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1917
1528-1929
1539-1917
ANC 1538-1837
1538-1837
1538-1837
TGEN

1538-1905


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1909
IGI



FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Nottinghamshire Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Nottinghamshire Census

Transcribed by Mills, Harold.  Balderton Freehold List 1806.  Part of the Duke of Newcastle's estate in Neward and area.  An alphabetical listing of people, and their address in the article from the Nottinghamshire Archives Ref C/QA/CP 5/6/230  and also in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 109 page 65-69, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Occupation[edit | edit source]

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Property[edit | edit source]

Mills, Harold. Valuation List for the Parish of Balderton in the County of Nottingham 1892-1896. List gives name of Occupier, name of Owner, Description of Property, and name or situation of property. Original held at Nottinghmshire Archives Ref PaC 23/31, trancription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 113, pages 1-30 FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Balderton in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Nottinghamshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk