Baker County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Baker County

Guide to Baker County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Baker County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Baker County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 12, 1825
County Seat Newton
Courthouse
Address Baker County Courthouse
167 Baker Place
Newton, GA 39870
Phone:(229)734-3000
Baker County Website


County Information

Baker County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Baker County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1820

1830
1850
1868


County Courthouse

Baker County Courthouse
167 Baker Place
Newton, GA 39870
Phone: (229)734-3000

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death, burial, and probate court records. County Clerk has divorce, court and land records from 1861.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
167 Baker Place
P.O. BOX 10
Newton, GA 31770
Phone: 229-734-3004
Fax: 229-734-7770

Probate Court of Baker County
P.O. Box 548
Newton, GA 39870
Phone: 229-734-3007


History

Parent County

1825--Baker County was created 12 December 1825 from Early County.  County seat:  Newton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
Floods.jpg
1873 The courthouse at Newton burned the night of 17-18 December 1873. All the Ordinary Court and most Superior Court records were lost.[3][4]

Surviving records include:[3]

  • Deed book 20
  • Mortgage books B and C
  • 1845 tax digest

1925, 1929 and 1994 Flooding damaged the courthouse and may have damaged records.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Calhoun  • Decatur  • Dougherty  • Early  • Miller  • Mitchell

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Baker, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Baker County cemeteries.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Mailing Lists
  • GA-Roots A mailing list for anyone with a genealogical interest in Georgia. (Rootsweb)

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Baker County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gabaker.jpg

Military

  • Military - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Baker County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Baker County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 6th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 51st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies D and E
- 53rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate),
- 62nd Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate), Company B
- 7th Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate)
- Military - Civil War Records- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Baker County Historical Society (Ga.). 1991. The History of Baker County, Georgia. Roswell, Ga: WH Wolfe Associates, Historical Publications Division. (Table 2 - Veterans - page 434 - 437) FHL Collection and other library

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Baker County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Wills
Additional Probate Records
  • 1868-1875 - Index to Baker County, Georgia Inventories at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1872-1920 - Index to Baker County, Georgia Annual Returns and Vouchers at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1874-1915 - Index to Baker County, Georgia Sale Bills at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1875-1918 - Index to Baker County, Georgia Inventories at Georgia Pioneers ($).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Baker County Historical Society
P.O. Box 856
Macclenny, FL 32063
E-Mail: historicalsociety@nefcom.net
Telephone - 904 259-0587

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Baker County, Georgia. Page 151 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 11-13. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Newton, GA Baker County Courthouse Fire, Dec 1873 at GenDisasters.com http://www3.gendisasters.com/georgia/22140/newton-ga-baker-county-courthouse-fire-dec-1873
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.