Baguley, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Baguley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Altrincham|
|Parish registers: 1867|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1868|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BAGULEY, a township, in the parish of Bowdon, union of Altrincham, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester, it is 6¼ miles (W. by S.) from Stockport.
Baguley St John the Divine is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1848 from Bowdon, Cheshire Ancient Parish.
The town is mentioned as Bagelei in the Domesday Book of 1086.
Baguley was a township of Bowdon, one of the ancient parishes of the Bucklow Hundred of Cheshire.
The modern parish is part of the Baguley St John (Brooklands) benefice in Withington deanery of the Diocese of Manchester.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Baguley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Baguley Online Parish Records|
|FMP Diocese PRs||1538-1911||1538-1910||1538-1911|
|FMP Diocese BTs||1576-1906||1576-1906||1576-1906|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Baguley- Higher Baguley Wesleyan, Dobbinets Lane
Marriages-1957-1983- Archives M291
Non Conformist Records:
The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage a nd death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Altrincham (1837-1898)
- Bucklow (1898-1931)
- Manchester South (1931)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Baguley on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 128-132. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.