Bagley Wood, Berkshire Genealogy
Guide to Bagley Wood, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bagley Wood, Berkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Abingdon|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Berkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BAGLEY-WOOD, an extra-parochial liberty, in the hundred of Hormer, county of Berks, 3¼ miles (N. by E.) from Abingdon. It was three miles south from Oxford. Search surrounding parishes for records and information. Genuki.org has additional information about Bagley Wood and extra-parochial places in Berkshire.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
This is an Extra-Parochial Liberty. Search the surrounding parishes for records.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 128-132. Date accessed: 27 March 2013
- Colin Hinson, "Extra-Parochial places for Berkshire," GENUKI: UK & Ireland Genealogy, 2003, http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/BRK/Names/Extraparochial, accessed 7 August 2018.