To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Badwell Ash, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Badwell Ash, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Badwell Ash, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackbourn
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Stow
Registration District Stow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blackbourn
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Badwell-Ash, is also known as Little Ashfield, it is a parish in Stow district, Suffolk; 3½ miles N E of Elmswell railway station, and 8 NNW of Stowmarket.[1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources[edit | edit source]

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centres.  Refer to Badwell Ash and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Badwell Ash parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Suffolk Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC = Suffolk, England, Extracted Church of England Parish Records, 1538-1850 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
Badwell Ash Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1911
1536-1902
1538-1909
ANC 1538-1850
1538-1850
1538-1850
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1909
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Suffolk Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

There are census records available for Badwell Ash from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 16 September 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk