To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Baddiley, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Baddiley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Baddiley, Cheshire
Baddiley Saint Michael Church.jpg
Baddiley Saint Michael Church
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nantwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich
Registration District Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1579
Bishop's Transcripts: 1596
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nantwich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BADDILEY (St. Michael), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Nantwich, S. division of the county of Chester, it is 3 miles (W. S. W.) from Nantwich. [1]

St Michael's Church, Baddiley is an Ancient Parish and is a rare example of a timber-framed church. The chancel dates from 1308, and is one of the oldest timber-framed churches in Europe.

Baddiley is listed in the Domesday Book as Bedelie, and the manor then belonged to the Praers family. In the first half of the 13th century, part of the Baddiley parish was granted to Combermere Abbey, a Cistercian monastery which had been endowed on its foundation in 1133 with a large area of land to the south; in 1355, the abbey also acquired the right to appoint the priest of the Baddiley church in exchange for land at Baddiley Grange. (Baddiley is not, however, included among the lands surrendered to the government when the abbey was dissolved in 1538.) By the 14th century, the manor had passed by marriage to the Bromley, Hondford and Mainwaring families, finally passing solely to the Mainwarings who occupied Baddiley Hall.

St Michael's Church, Baddiley is in the civil parish of Baddiley, Cheshire, England. It dates from the early 14th century. The nave and chancel are divided by a pre-Reformation screen and tympanum.  It continues to be an active Anglican parish church in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Macclesfield and the deanery of Nantwich. Its benefice is combined with those of St Mary's and St Michael's Church, Burleydam and St Margaret's Church, Wrenbury.

Baddiley is a scattered settlement and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. The civil parish also includes the north-western part of the village of Ravensmoor (also in the parish of Burland), as well as the small settlements of Baddiley Hulse, Batterley Hill, and parts of Gradeley Green and Swanley.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baddiley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Baddiley Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non-Conformist Records:

Baddiley and Ravensmoor is part of the Audlem Circuit.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

  •  Nantwich (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton & Crewe (1974–1988)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire Central ( post 1998)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Baddiley on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 124-128. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk


Bibliography[edit | edit source]

  • Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 20–21, ISBN 1871731232
  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 38–40 
  •  Clifton-Taylor, Alec (1974), English Parish Churches as Works of Art, London: Batsford, p. 52, ISBN 0 7134 2776 0