Baddesley Clinton, Warwickshire Genealogy
|Baddesley Clinton, Warwickshire|
|Poor Law Union||Solihull|
|Parish registers: 1633|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Probate Court||Court of the Manor of Baddesley Clinton|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Baddesley Clinton St Michael is an Ancient Parish in Warwickshire.
In 1438, John Brome, the Under-Treasurer of England, bought the manor. It then passed to his son, Nicholas, responsible for the extensive rebuilding of the parish church dedicated to St. Michael, done as penance for killing the parish priest, a murder reputed to have taken place in the manor house nearby.
The parish church was once called St. James) west tower was built about 1500 by Nicholas Brome, as recorded by an inscription on the south wall. It was entirely rebuilt in 1634 by Edward Ferrers.
Baddesley-Clinton, is a parish in Solihull district, Warwickshire; it is on the Warwick and Birmingham railway, at Kingswood station, 8½ miles NW of Warwick. The post town is, Rowing ton under Warwick. There is a Roman Catholic chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Baddesley Clinton, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).|
|Baddesley Clinton, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Bishop's Transcripts deposited at the Lichfield Record Office Bap 1813-1835 Marr 1813-1835 Bur 1813-1835
- 1535 - 1984 - England, Warwickshire, Parish Registers, 1535-1984 at FamilySearch — index and images
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted. Date accessed: 30 Oct 2013.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2014.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 26 August 2014.