Baca County, Colorado Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Baca County, Colorado)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Colorado
Baca County

Guide to Baca County, Colorado ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Springfield
Organized: 1889 April 16
Parent County(s): Las Animas [1]
Neighboring Counties
Bent  • Cimarron (OK)  • Las Animas  • Morton (KS)  • Prowers  • Stanton (KS)  • Texas (OK)  • Union (NM)
See County Maps
Location Map
Colorado Baca County.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for a pioneer and Colorado territorial legislator Felipe Baca. The County has Springfield as its seat and the County was created April 16, 1889. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Baca County Courthouse
741 Main Street
Springfield, CO 81073-1548
Phone 719.523.4372
Baca County Website

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1889.
District Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1910[3]

Baca County, Colorado Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1863 1889 1863 1910 1889 1910 1860

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes


Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[11]

Towns
  • Pritchett
  • Unincorporated communites


    History Timeline

    Resources

    Bible Records

    Biographies

    Business, Commerce, and Occupations

    Cemeteries

    Cemeteries of Baca County, Colorado online and in print
    Tombstone Transcriptions Online
    Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
    List of Cemeteries in the County
    See Colorado Cemeteries for more information

     

    Census Records

    In 1860, present-day Colorado was enumerated in the Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, and Utah Territories. Colorado Territory was created in 1861 and was enumerated as such in the 1870 Census. A state census was taken in 1885 for Colorado.[12] See links listed below.

    Historical populations
    Census Pop.  %±
    1890 1,479
    1900 759 −48.7%
    1910 2,516 231.5%
    1920 8,721 246.6%
    1930 10,570 21.2%
    1940 6,207 −41.3%
    1950 7,964 28.3%
    1960 6,310 −20.8%
    1970 5,674 −10.1%
    1980 5,419 −4.5%
    1990 4,556 −15.9%
    2000 4,517 −0.9%
    2010 3,788 −16.1%
    Source: "Wikipedia.org".

    State and Territory Census Records

    Federal Census Records

    The 1880 Census was the first Federal Census for Colorado after it became a state in 1876.[13] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Colorado Census.

    • 1860-1940 Colorado Census Records from 1860 to 1940 at FamilySearch.org — index/images

    Church Records

    Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

    Online Church Records
    Presbyterian Church

    Court Records

    Numerous records are available at Colorado Archives. To use this link scroll down the page to where it asks for Record Type. Click there and scroll down the list to the records you want and select. The next field asks for county. Select the county you want and then click on Search. You can narrow the search by adding the additional information it asks for.

    Directories

    Emigration and Immigration

    Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

    Funeral Homes

    Genealogies

    Guardianship

    Land and Property Records

    Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

    See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

    After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.


    Online Land Records

    For more information see Colorado Land and Property

    Local Histories

    Online County Histories

    Maps and Gazetteers

    Bent CountyProwers CountyStanton CountyMorton CountyCimarron CountyLas Animas CountyCO BACA.JPG
    About this image
    Click a neighboring county
    for more resources


    Migration

    Military Records

    Online Collections

    These collections are unique to Colorado. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Colorado Military Records.

    All Veterans

    Civil War

    Spanish-American War (1898)

    World War I

    Vietnam War

    For further information see Colorado Military Records.

    Naturalization and Citizenship

    Online Records

    Newspapers

    For more information, see Colorado Newspapers.

    Colorado Newspapers Online

    Colorado Newspaper Catalogs

    • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper


    Obituaries

    Other Records

    Periodicals

    Probate Records

    Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

    You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.


    Online Records

    School Records

    Tax Records

    Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.


    Vital Records

    Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

    For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

    Birth

    Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [14]

    Marriage

    Online Records

    Death

    Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [14]

    Divorce

    Online Records

    Research Facilities

    Archives

    The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Baca County, Colorado Genealogy in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
    (Statewide)
    1880-1939 Divorce Index
    1883-1900 Mine Accidents, Non - fatal
    1897-1920 Horseshoers
    1936-1942 Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments
    1966-1968 Vietnam Deaths

    Family History Centers

    Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

    Libraries

    Baca County Public Library
    1260 Main Street
    Springfield, CO 81073
    Phone: (719) 523-6962

    Museums

    Societies

    Baca County Historical Society
    901 Santa Fe Dr.
    Springfield, CO 81073

    Southeastern Colorado Genealogical Society, Inc.
    P.O. Box 1407
    Pueblo, CO 81002
    Website

    Websites

    Research Guides

    References

    1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
    2. Genealogy Trails History Group, "Baca County, Colorado Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/colo/baca/ 6/27/2017.
    3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 97, Baca County, Colorado. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
    4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Baca County, Colorado. Page 97 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Colorado Office of the State Registrar of Vital Statistics.
    5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
    6. 6.0 6.1 William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publ., 1987), 52. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
    7. Brief County Histories (New Mexico) in RootsWeb (accessed 21 June 2012).
    8. Wikipedia contributors, "Colorado Territory" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopeida at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colorado_Territory (accessed 19 June 2012).
    9. Adrian B. Ettlinger, AniMap 3.0 : with SiteFinder U.S. place name database (Alamo, Calif.: Gold Bug, 2008), Colorado 1861 map. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL CD-ROM no. 4903.
    10. Handybook, 99, Huerfano County, Colorado.
    11. Wikipedia contributors, "Baca County, Colorado," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baca_County,_Colorado, accessed May 12, 2017.
    12. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 51-54; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 86. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
    13. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 54.
    14. 14.0 14.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov