Babraham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Babraham, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Linton|
|Parish registers: 1561|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
BABRAHAM (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Linton, hundred of Chilford, county of Cambridge, 4½ miles (N. W.) from Linton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Babraham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free|
|Babraham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Church of England: Babraham, St. Peter
- Parish registers for Babraham, 1561-1876 are on FHL Film # 1040364 Items 14-23 at the Family History Library or through a Family History Center.
- Bishop Transcripts for Babraham, 1599-812 are on FHL Film # 1485266 at the Family History Library or through a Family History Center.. This microfilm has been digitised.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
The Overseers accounts from 1829-1837 are on FHL Film # 1040403 Items 1-8 available at the Family History Library and a Family History Center.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Babraham on GENUKI