Brant County, Ontario Genealogy
|Ontario Research Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Brant County ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Online Gazetteers
- 3 Civil Registration
- 4 FamilySearch Library Microfilmed Records
- 5 Census Records
- 6 Church Records
- 7 Cemetery Records
- 8 Populated Places Table
- 9 Websites
Prior to the establishment of Brant County as an administrative county in 1849-50, the area was governed locally by the Gore District of Upper Canada (Canada West after 1841). The townships were previously located in Wentworth and Oxford Counties. Settlement began in the area in the 1780s.
In 1999, Brant County became a single tier municipality. Its townships ceased to exist, and the county was governed like a city with wards replacing the townships. Brantford and Paris maintained their own municipal governments.
Oxford, Waterloo, Wentworth, Haldimand, Norfolk
- 1869 - 1911 Ontario Births, 1869-1911 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1858 - 1913 - Ontario, Canada Births, 1858-1913 at Ancestry.com--index and images. ($)
- 1869 - 1912 - Ontario Births, 1869-1912 at --index. ($)
- 1801-1858 - Ontario, District Marriage Registers, 1801-1858 at FamilySearch — index and images.
- 1801-1928, 1933-1934 - Ontario, Canada, Marriages, 1801-1928, 1933-1934 at Ancestry.com--index and images. ($)
- 1858-1869 - Ontario, County Marriage Registers, 1858-1869 at FamilySearch — index and images.
- 1869-1937, and some 1939-1947 - Ontario Deaths, 1869-1937 and Overseas Deaths, 1939-1947 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1869-1938, 1943-1944, and some 1939-1947 - Ontario, Canada, Deaths, 1869-1938, 1943-1944, and Deaths Overseas, 1939-1947 at Ancestry.com--index and images. ($)
Writing for a More Recent Birth, Marriage, or Death Record
- ServiceOntario, Birth Records is the only government-authorized source for obtaining birth certificates. Go to the section entitled "Order a Birth Search". This is the most economical, searches the widest time period, and allows searches for people not immediately related. A letter of information is provided rather than a certificate.
- ServiceOntario, Marriage Records offers a marriage search option and a historical certificate option.
- ServiceOntario, Death Records offers a death search option and a historical certificate option. Also official death certificates are available to a wider range of relatives than birth and marriage certificates.
FamilySearch Library Microfilmed Records
Some of the church/civil records have been microfilmed by FamilySearch.These microfilms may be accessible for viewing at Family History Centers around the world. To find a microfilm:
- a. Click on records for Canada, Ontario, Brant County. You will see a list of available records for the county.
- b. You will also see above the list the link Places within Canada, Ontario, Brant County. This will take you to a list of towns in the counties, which are links to records for the specific town.
- c. Click on any topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
- d. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. . The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.
|Census||Districts and Sub-Districts||Links|
Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842
Canada Census, 1851
|Braint County (District 2)
Census of Canada, 1861
Brantford, Burford, Oakland, Onondaga, Paris,
South Dumfries, & Tuscarora.
Census of Canada, 1871
|Brant South (District 15)
Brant North (District 16)
Census of Canada, 1881
|Brant South (District 159)
Brant North (District 160)
Census of Canada, 1891
|Brant North (District 48)
Brant South (District 49)
Census of Canada, 1901
|Brant South (District 46)
Wentworth and Brant North (District 127)
Census of Canada, 1911
|Brant (District 56)
Brantford (Distroct 57)
Census of Canada, 1921
Church records can include baptisms, marriages, burials, membership lists, financial business, and other records for a particular congregation. They may be available online or on microfilm, but frequently they are still with the local church or in centralized archives by religion. The Canadian census records asked for the religion of those listed, so you will be able to narrow down which archives to consult. For help with writing a letter requesting copies of records, see Letter Writing Guide for Genealogy.
- Link to Anglican church archives
- Link to Baptist church archives
- Link to Catholic church archives
- Link to Lutheran church archives
- Link to Moravian church archives
- Link to Presbyterian church archives
- Link to United Church of Canada (including Methodist) church archives
Online Church Records
These records are incomplete.
- Ontario Births and Baptisms, 1779-1899 collection includes indexed Ontario church records.
- Ontario Marriages, 1800-1910.
- Ontario, Roman Catholic Church Records, 1760-1923., images only.
- Ontario, Canada, Roman Catholic Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1760-1923, index and images, ($).
- Ontario, Canada, Catholic Church Records (Drouin Collection), 1802-1967
- Ontario, Canada, Roman Catholic Marriages, 1827-1870, ($).
- Various individual church records at FindMyPast, ($).
See, Ontario Cemeteries for information on cemetery record collections not yet digitized, but available in published sources and on microfilm.
Online Cemetery Records
- Ontario Cemetery Finding Aid website has a free, searchable database of over 2 million burials in Ontario. It can be searched by name, cemetery, county and town, but its references do not include dates of death. Although it does not include any gravestone inscriptions, it can be used to locate graves in Ontario.
- Ontario Cemetery Ancestory Index
- Ontario Name Index (TONI)
- The Canadian Gravemarker Gallery
- The Ontario section of Canada GenWeb Cemetery Project
- Ontario, Canada Headstones.com
- Ontario, Toronto Trust Cemeteries (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Canada, Find A Grave Index, 1600s-Current
Populated Places Table
| FORMER NAME,
| ANY NEW
The Forebears website will give you an extensive list of websites that could have information for people who lived in this county. Some sites cover just the county, some cover all of Ontario, and some cover all of Canada. Some sites are databases of names and facts about people; other sites cover background information such as maps, history, geography, or genealogy strategies and methods for the region.
- Brant County Digital Archives contains a number of resources related to its residents and its history.
Virtual War Memorial for Brantford and the county of Brant online, this is provided by the Brantfod Public Library.
Newspapers & Obituaries
Brantford Expositor Newspaper: This newspaper provides a searchable index of births, marriages and deaths covering the years between 1852-201o with some missing years. If you are not located in this area you can request copies of the notices for a fee.