Bø Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bø, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Bø Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese		 add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bratsberg
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1919: Bratsberg
Fylke 1919-Present Telemark
Region add here
Prestegjeld Bø
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Bø
Fogderi Nedre Telemarken
Sorenskriveri Nedre Telemarken
Skipreide add here
v • d • e



Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Bø clerical district contains priest and sexton records from Bø parish. Included Lunde and Ytre Flåbygd until 1866. Ytre Flåbyd was annexed to Bø from Kviteseid (Hvidesøe) clerical district in 1845.

Bø clerical district: 1689-1969


Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was for Bø clerical district and included Bø parish and Lunde parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1664-1666 Census This census was taken by the local parish priests. It was for Bø clerical district and included Bø parish and Lunde parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet.

  • 1782 Census The 1782 census for Bø clerical district and included Bø parish and Lunde parish. A searchable database used to be available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) but it was removed when the website was changed. When they re-add it a link will be added here.




  • 1900 Census The 1900 census for Bø clerical district is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1910 Census The 1910 census is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

Farm names and nmbers as listed in Rygg's Norwegian Farm Names about 1900 are as follows:

8 Aagetveit 16 Aase 64 Aase 26 Aasen 50 Aasgrav 37 Aasland 1 Askilt 2 Askiltrud

37 Bakaas 39 Bakaas 43 Bakken 11 Belakjøn 11 Belakjønhaugen 40 Berge 41 Bergene 18 Bjørnfeld 51 Borgen med Flita 21 Brenne 61 Brenne 41 Brukaasa 38 Bruserud 21 Buskerydningen og Indlæggen 24 Bækhus 56 Bø

14 Dalen 18 Dalen 34 Dalen

62 Eiken 10 Eiken østre 63 Eikenrud 12 Engene 26 Erikstein 40 Espedalen 57 Evjen

9 Flatland 9 Folkestad 38 Forberget 41 Fossem 23 Furuvold

3 Gaara 42 Gjuvskaas 15 Glakollkaasene 40 Glenna 41 Glennehaugen 33 Gravajordet 30 Grave 47 Grivi 47 Griviøien

37 Harpestaa 52 Hasarud 41 Haug 47 Haugen og Øverland 25 Haugerud 44 Haugerud 6 Haugland 1 Hegna 26 Hegna 38 Hegna 20 Hegnaasen 9 Heldal 8 Helland 4 Hvaala

55 Indlæggen

35 Jønneberg 14 Jørgedal

23 Kaasa 24 Kaasa 41 Kaasa 55 Kaasa 9 Kaasene 41 Kaasene 9 Kjøntveit 32 Kjøntveit 46 Klep øde 32 Kleven 55 Klokkerstuen 41 Korsveien 19 Kringlaas 30 Krosmokaasa 18 Kytelien

21 Langemyr 3 Langkaas 9 Langkaas 41 Langkaas 34 Leirkoll 19 Li 9 Lien 49 Lien 19 Lihegna 14 Lona 30 Løvold

37 Mid-Forberget 55 Midbø 21 Moen 21 Moland 21 Molandskaasa 27 Myklestøl 54 Mørkholt

55 Nistaas 54 Nordbø 26 Nyhus

9 Olsbru 60 Opdal 15 Orebakken 21 Oterholt

43 Paalskaas 9 Pladsen 53 Præstegaarden

1 Ralle 7 Roteberg 21 Rui 21 Rydningen 18 Rødklev 15 Røisland

21 Sagen 38 Sagen 31 Sanden 45 Sanden 9 Sersland 43 Sissejord 24 Siverhus 50 Skogedalen 37 Skogen 50 Skogen 26 Skrikerud 26 Skruverud 34 Skøien 26 Slaatta 13 Slemmeli 28 Soterud 47 Spærrud 57 Stadsklev 19 Stafsholt 58 Staurem 59 Stillingsrud 15 Stokland 21 Storrydningen 1 Stubberud 22 Sønstebø

31 Tangen 9 Tjæreberget 21 Tollehaugen 19 Torekaasa 49 Torstveit 50 Torstveit 20 Tronskaas 32 Tveitan 15 Tveiten 36 Tveiten

13 Vatner 9 Vemyr 28 Verpe 5 Vestgaarden 9 Vindbæk 25 Vreim

18 Østerli 48 Øverland Skov 29 Øvrebø


Fram names as listed in Bø – Soga II Telemark, Gards- Og Ættesoga Bind I, II, III og IV.are as follows: Some of these farms have been divided into Nordre, Nord, Søndre, Nedre, Øvre, Austre, Aust, or Midtre that are not indicated here.

Aagetveit, Aaland, Aarheim, Alfheim, Alvestad, Askhaug, Askildt, Askiltrud, Askvegen, Aspheim, Astrup, Austad, Austerhus, Aust-Åmort, Bakke, Bakkebø, Bakkemoen, Bakken, Bakkene, Bakketun, Bakkjer, Bakkåker, Bakås, Barhaug, Basmoen, Basthaug, Bautasteinen, Bedehuset, Bekken, Bekketun, Bekkevold, Bekkhus, Belatjønn, Berg, Bergankåsa, Berge, Bergene, Berger, Bergestig, Bergheim, Bergland, Bergli, Berglid, Berglien, Bergly, Bergset, Bergskås, Bergtun, Bergvad, Bergvin, Birkelund, Bjerklund, Bjønnemyr, Bjønnåkerledet, Bjørge, Bjørkeli, Bjørkelund, Bjørkely, Bjørkestad, Bjørketun, Bjørkhaug, Bjørkheim, Bjørkli, Bjørklund, Bjørkstad, Bjørnebo, Bjørnehiet, Bjørnfell, Blaksli, Bonge, Borge, Borgja, Borgum, Borgvin, Borre, Botn, Bratterud, Breidablikk, Breisås, Breiva, Brekka, Brenne, Brennekåsa, Brennlia, Breskhaug, Brisk, Briskelia, Brua, Bruhaug, Brukarmyra, Brukås, Brukåsa, Bruserud, Brustad, Bruvegen, Brånen, Bråtane, Bråten, Bråtene, Bukkelia, Busil, Buskeronning, Bustadtomter, Bø, Bø prestegard, Bøen, Bøhegna, Bømek, Bøtun, Dahle, Dale, Dalen, Dalheim, Dammen, Dikedalen, Dikene, Dokka, Dretskår, Dyrli, Eiberg, Eika, Eikeli, Eikelund, Eikja, Eikjabygda, Eikjagardane, Eikjamyra, Eikjarud, Eikland, Eikvin, Einerbu, Eivind Fosstveit, Elsheim, Elvang, Elvestad, Elvheim, Eng, Enga, Engstad, Erikstein, Erlandbu, Espedalen, Espeland, Espeli, Espesett, Espetun, Eugene, Evju, Fagerli, Felleskjøpet, Festetomt, Fiskarbekk, Fjellbu, Fjellet, Fjellheim, Fjellro, Fjellset, Fjellstad, Fjelltun, Flata, Flatabø, Flatin, Flatland, Flatmark, Flatmo, Flita, Flåta, Flåten, Folkestad, Folkvang, Forberg, Fossdal, Fossetun, Fossheim, Fossli, Fosslund, Fosstveit, Fossvang, Frambø, Framistugu Eika, Framstad, Fredheim, Fredly, Fredsteinkåsa, Fredtun, Friheim, Frøyatun, Frøydar, Furuberg, Furuheim, Furulund, Furuly, Furumo, Furuvang, Furuvoll, Fykerud, Fådåpan, Gaara, Garnås, Geitebua, Glakollkåsine, Glena, Glenna, Glennahaugen, Glennakåsa, Glytta, Godheim, Gosen, Granheim, Granli, Granlien, Grauteknapp, Gravbu, Grave, Gravir, Gravjord, Grinda, Grivi, Grivijordet, Grivili, Grivimoen, Grivoll, Grønbygil, Grønli, Gråndokka, Grånåstul, Gunnbu, Gunnvorskås, Gåra, Hafstein, Hagebø, Hagehaug, Hagen, Hagevoll, Haguene, Hanto, Harpestå, Hasarud, Hasledalen, Haslum, Haug, Haugan, Haugejord, Haugen, Haugene, Hauger, Haugerud, Haugerudløkka, Haugesag, Haugestad, Haugfoss, Haugland, Haugli, Haugtun, Haugum, Haugvin, Hausen, Heggeli, Heggen, Heggenes, Heggtun, Heggtveit, Hegna, Hegnakåsa, Hegnastykket, Hegnum, Hegnåsen, Heia, Heiberg, Heimdal, Heimjord, Heimli, Heimly, Heimtun, Heimvegen, Heistad, Heldal, Helland, Helle, Hellekås, Hellerhaug, Hellestad, Hellos, Heng, Herrefoss, Hestedalane , Hestehegna, Hildebu, Hoggekubben, Holet, Holi, Holmenheim, Holmstul, Holta, Holtar, Holtebekk, Hotten, Humlebrekke, Husjordet, Hvitsand, Hyfsopp, Hynne, Høgefosskåsa, Høgeli, Høgemo, Høgset, Høgstad, Høgsås, Høgtun, Høgvoll, Høibø, Høksnes, Hørte, Hørteelva, Høymyrane, Høyslass, Høystul, Hågan, Hågåberg, Hågåbergja, Hågåli, Hågån, Håverstad, Håvland, Igletjønn, Innlegeen, Jamgrav, Jonsbu, Juvskås, Jylland, Jønnbu, Jønneberg, Jønnvall, Jørgedal, Jørgedal, Kafehjørnet, Kamperhaug, Kantebakke, Kariplassen, Kasin, Kikkut, Kjellstad, Kleiva, Kleppen, Klokkarstugu, Klomredalen, Klovholt, Kolahuset, Kollen, Kolsbotn, Kons, Kophøl, Kostveit, Krikken, Kringlås, Kringsjå, Krossh, Krosshaugen, Krossmokåsa, Krossvegen, Kultan, Kupa, Kveldro, Kvennøya, Kvålen, Kvålset, Kyrkjebø, Kyrkjekåsa, Kytelia, Kåsa, Kåsastulen, Kåsene, Kåsin, Kåsine, Lahus, Laibakken, Landheim, Landsverk, Lanebu, Langebrekke, Langedal, Langedrag, Langemyr, Langerud, Langeskår, Langeskårenden, Langkaas, Langkås, Langkåsbyen, Lang-Løyningen, Lauvbudalen, Lauvegen, Lauvheim, Lauvli, Lauvnes, Lauvstad, Leira, Leirkoll, Leirvollen, Leite, Lektorvegen, Lensegrav, Li, Lia, Liabakken, Liagardane, Liane, Libu, Libø, Lid, Lien, Liene, Lieungh, Lihegna, Liheia, Likås, Lillevoll, Limarka, Linde, Lindeberg, Lindhaug, Listog, Ljosmyr, Ljosstad, Lofthus, Lofthusvegen, Lona, Lonar, Lovald, Lund, Lundene, Lundevald, Lundevang, Lundheim, Lykkja, Lykkjune, Lyngestad, Lyngstad, Lyse, Løkin, Løkka, Lønneberget, Lønnemo, Lønnestad, Løvlid, Løvlund, Løvskeid, Løyningen, låttedalen, Mannebruslåtta, Martedalen, Massekåsa, Mastedalen, Mattisplass, Maurberg, Maurstad, Megarden, Megarden Folkestad, Midtbø, Midt-Bø, Midtjord, Midtland, Midt-Løyningen, Milekåsa, Mo, Moen, Mogane, Moheim, Moland, Molandstugo, Myklestul, Mykletun, Myra, Myrann, Myre, Myrene, Myrheim, Myrjord, Myrland, Myrvang, Myrvoll, Møbelhalla, Mørkholt, Mørkholthaugen, Napastågarden, Nerbø, Nigard, Nistugu, Nistås, Nordbø, Nordigard, Nordistugu, Nordli, Nord-Årlia, Norheim, Nutheim, Nybu, Nybø, Nygård, Nyheim, Nyhus, Nykås, Nyland, Nylund, Nymoen, Nystul, Nyvoll, Oppeheim, Oppheim, Oppheimvegen, Oppigard, Oppistugu, Optun, Orebakken, Oredalen, Orekåsa, Oremyr, Orheim, Oshaug, Ospelund, Oterholt, Oterholtfossane, Otterheim, Otterholt, Otterstad, Pederstun, Piparlia, Piperud, Pissebekk, Plassane Kjerstihol, Plassen, Plomhogget, Plomøya, Polen, Prestegarden, Pålsbu, Pålskås, Ralle, Ramle, Ramsås, Raudmyr, Raukleiv, Raukleivkåsa, Reina, Reinar, Reine, Rennelia, Rinde, Rindheim, Ringstad, Roe, Roheim, Roheimgardane, Roheimgrenda, Roheimheia, Roholt, Ronningen, Ronningkåsa, Ronningstykket, Roteberg, Rubra, Rue, Rugkåsa, Rugstad, Rugtveit, Rukaren, Rulnes, Rutt, Rydland, Rydning, Rydvang, Rye-ætta, Rønning, Rønningen, Rønningsland, Røte, Røysland, Røysum, Saga, Sagamyra, Sagatun, Sagtun, Sagvoll, Sanda, Sandakrinsen, Sandbu, Sanddal, Sandhaug, Sandland, Sandli, Sandmo, Sandstul, Sandsveen, Sandvin, Sandvoll, Sannes, Sannhaug, Sanni, Seljestad, Seljusletta, Seltun, Sersland, Siglhus, Sigmundstad, Simmonsbekk, Sisjord, Sjåberg, Sjåstad, Skauen, Skavdalen, Skjelbrei, Skobba, Skoe, Skogehaugen, Skogen, Skoghaugen, Skogheim, Skogli, Skoglund, Skogly, Skogtun, Skorra, Skrikerud, Skruverud, Skvisla, Slemmeli, Sletta, Slettebø, Sletteli, Slåtta, Slåttun, Smedstad, Smiuhaugen, Snipetorp, Snippen, Soar, Solberg, Solbjørg, Solgløtt, Solhaug, Solheim, Solli, Sollia, Solly, Solsett, Solskinsberget, Solstad, Solstua, Solsveen, Soltun, Solvang, Solvoll, Solås, Sommarligrav, Sondbø, Soterud, Soterud-Haugen, St. Heim, Stabbursåsen, Stadskleiv, Stafsholt, Staurheim, Stavsholt, Steinhaug, Steinmo, Steinsrud, Steinstad, Steinstullia, Steinsvoll, Steintjønndalen, Steinurshol, Stenstad, Stikkstangen, Stiklandsbekk, Stodi, Stokland, Stoklandheia, Stordal, Storemyr, Storeskott, Storhaug, Storronning, Strandmo, Stubberud, Stugo, Stulen, Stulskår, Stykket, Subygda, Subø, Sudalen, Sudistugu, Su-moen, Surtegro, Surteholune, Su-Skvisla, Su-Åmort, Su-Årlia, Svalbjørg, Sveinsvoll, Svingen, Sælstad, Sønstebø, Tandre, Tangane, Tangen, Tangenslåtta, Tegle, Tengesdal, Tjyrukåsa, Tjæreberget, Tjønnehaugen, Tjønnemarkætta, Tjønntveit, Tjønnås, Tollehaugen, Tollehotten, Tomt, Tomtefeltet, Tonar, Toranheim, Torcobygg, Torekåsa, Torholt, Torstad, Torsveit, Torsveitvegen, Triland, Triveli, Tronskås, Trælsborg, Tråberg, Tunberg, Tunet, Tunheim, Tunvang, Tunvin, Tunvoll, Tussehaugen, Tveit, Tveitan, Tveitanskogen, Tveiten, Tørrmo, Ufs, Undermo, Uneberg, Utbråten, Utkjellar, Uvdal, Valen, Vang, Vatnar, Vatnarheia, Vegene, Vegheim, Vegtun, Veirud, Veltune, Vemyr, Venhaug, Vermelia, Verpe, Vesledal, Vesle-Tjønnås, Vesle-Ufs, Vestbø, Vestgarden, Vestheim, Vestigard, Vesttun, Veungen, Vevstad, Vibo, Vidsyn, Vilje, Villand, Vinbekk, Vindal, Vindhaug, Voll, Vollane, Vollen, Vonheim, Vreim, Vårbakken, Vårli, Waldenstrøm, Ytrebø, Øllanbakkje, Østbø, Østerdal, Østerli, Østgarden, Østigard, Østliheia, Østtveit, Østvold, Østvoll, Øverbø, Øverbømoen, Øverland, Øvrevoll, Øya, Øygarden, Åbakkene, Åbo, Åbø, Åheim, Åkre, Åkrokane, Åkroken, Åkåsa, Åland, Åmot, Ånto, Årebakk, Årlia, Årmot, Årmotdalen, Årnatten, Årstad, Årvoll, Åsberg, Åsberget, Åsbu, Åse, Åsemkåsa, Åsen, Åsene, Åserud, Åsgrav, Åsheim, Åsland, Åsli, Åste Hasledalen, Åstul



Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Nedre Telemark judicial district
*1667-1834 Family History Library
*1667-1834 Digitalarkivet

Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

Henneseid, Stian, Nordbø, Gregar. Bø – Soga II Telemark, Gards- Og Ættesoga Bind I, II, III og IV. Telemark: Bø Trykk a.s., 1982-1986

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Bø_Parish,_Telemark,_Norway_Genealogy&oldid=4203112"