Bø Parish, Nordland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Nordland County

Guide to Bø, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Bø Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 add here
Amt 1689-1919 add here
Fylke 1919-Present add here
Region add here
Prestegjeld add here
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag add here
Fogderi add here
Sorenskriveri add here
Skipreide add here


Church Records

Bø clerical district contains parish registers for the parishes Bø and Malnes. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1741-1921.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Bø: 1741-1895

Bø / Bø: 1870-1921

Bø / Malnes: 1865-1901, 1902-1918

Census Records

  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 clerical census for Bø clerical district includes the parishes of Bø and Malnes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a scanned format at Digitalarkivet as well as in a searchable index.
  • Folketelling 1 Feb 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Bø clerical district includes the parishes ofBø and Malnes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a searchable database online at the Digitalarkivet.
  • Folketellinga 1865 for [nr.] 1867 Bø i Vesterålen. An index to the 1865 census is available on microfiche at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellinga 1900 for [nr.] 1867 Bø i Vesterålen. The 1900 census for Bø clerical district is available on microfiche at the Family History Library.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

Farm number and names listed in Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names in about 1900 are as follows:


14 Bø, 35 Børge

33 Fagerhaugen, 28 Fjærvold, 30 Forøen, 29 Føre

27 Gimstad, 1 Guvaag

3 Haugsnes, 31 Hole

5 Jørland

8 Klaksjorden, 26 Kleppelven

7 Langmoen, 20 Lilleøen, 13 Lokkøen, 32 Lynghaugen

15 Maarsund, 23 Nakling

24 Neset

10 Pollen

11 Ramberg, 9 Ringstad, 2 Røsnes

40 Skaarvaagen, 18 Skagen, 21 Skjæringstad, 4 Skorpen, 12 Snarset, 17 Steine, 16 Steinsvik, 37 Strømme, 39 Strømsjøen, 25 Svinøen, 39 Søberg

8 Uvaag

22 Vaagen, 34 Vea, 6 Verhalsen, 38 Vikan, 19 Vinje

36 Øijorden

Farm names listed in Straume Bø Bygedebok I in 1962 are as follows:

Borgarleier og Kremmarar, Bø

Guvåg

Haugsnes

Jektebruket, Jørland

Klaksjord, Kremmarar og Borgarleier

Langmoa, Lokkøy

Pollen

Ramberg, Ringstad, Røsnes

Skorpa, Snarset

Uvåg

Verhalsen, Vesterålen

Farm names listed in Straume Bø Bygedebok II in 1963 are as follows:

Bø, Børge, Bøstrand

Demma

Fagerhaugen, Farveisa, Fjærvoll, Forøy, Føre

Gimstad, Gimstadsjøen

Handkleppen, Hesthagen, Hole

Kleppelva, Kongsfjellet

Litløy, Lofotposten, Lundhaug, Lynghaug

Mårsund

Nakling, Neset

Skagen, Skjerringstad, Skårvågen, Steine, Steinsvik, Straume, Straumsjø, Straumsjøen, Svinøy, Søberg

Under Føre, Under Søberg

Vea, Vikan, Vinje, Været, Vågen

Øyjord

Farm names listed in Straume Bø Bygedebok III in 1964 are as follows:

Asterset

Botten, Bøen

Eidet

Godvik, Grimstad, Gustad, Gåsland

Haugen, Hovden, Husvåg

Jenn

Kvalvik

Malnes

Nyke, Nykvåg

Oksebøl

Reinshaugen, Rise, Rottesnes, Røshagen

Sandvik, Selvåg, Skålbrekka, Spjelvåg, Sund

Under Skålbrekka, Utskor

Veggemo

Åsan

Probate Records

1673-1879: Probates are found in Lofoten og Versterålen judicial district.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


Straume, Rolv. Bø Bygedebok I. Tromsø: A.S. Peder Norbye, 1962

Straume, Rolv. Bø Bygedebok II. Tromsø: A.S. Peder Norbye, 1963

Straume, Rolv. Bø Bygedebok III. Tromsø: A.S. Peder Norbye, 1964