Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aylesbury Borough
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Aylesbury
Registration District Aylesbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wendover
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of Aylesbury; Post-1845 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

AYLESBURY (St. Mary), a borough, market-town, parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Aylesbury, county of Buckingham, of which it is the county town, 16½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Buckingham. There is a chapelry within St. Mary's Parish. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans, and one for Particular Baptists in the hamlet of Walton.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Aylesbury Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Buckinghamshire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers - FamilySearch Catalog
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Buckinghamshire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1400s-1900s
-
Find My Past Banns-Buckinghamshire ($)
-
-
-
1600s-1900s
-
-
Ancestry-Buckinghamshire ($)
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

  • 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Prisons[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Aylesbury on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 120-124.Date accessed: 05 June 2013