Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Buckinghamshire
Buckinghamshire Parishes
Aylesbury


Guide to Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aylesbury Borough
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Aylesbury
Registration District Aylesbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wendover
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of Aylesbury; Post-1845 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History

AYLESBURY (St. Mary), a borough, market-town, parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Aylesbury, county of Buckingham, of which it is the county town, 16½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Buckingham. There is a chapelry within St. Mary's Parish. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans, and one for Particular Baptists in the hamlet of Walton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Aylesbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Buckinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Aylesbury Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1575-1900
1611-1901
1575-1909
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI 1770-1787, 1877-1887, 1894-1896
1891-1903


FS Catalog PRs
1565-1909
1565-1909
1565-1909
FS Catalog BTs
1575-1841
1575-1841
1575-1841

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Prisons

Websites

Aylesbury on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 120-124.Date accessed: 05 June 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk