To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting Avoyelles Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 31, 1807
County Seat Marksville
Courthouse
LAAvoyellescourthouse.jpg
Address 312 North Main Street
Marksville, la 71351-2450
(318) 253-75230
Adopt-a-wiki page
LaGenWeb logo.gif This page adopted by:
LAGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Parish Coordinator
Avoyelles Parish LAGenWeb
Adopt a page today
 



Parish Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the Avoyel Native Americans. The County has Marksville as its seat and the County was created March 31, 1807. The County is located in the east central area of the state.[1]

Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914 1908 1914 1929 1908 1925 1700s
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1914. General compliance year unknown. (website says 1918 births; 1911 deaths)

Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Avoyelles Parish Courthouse
312 N Main Street
Marksville, LA 71351
Phone: 318.253.9208

Parish Clerk has marriage and land records from 1908,
probate records from 1925, court records from 1929,
divorce records from 1939 and military records from 1886 .[3]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent Parish[edit | edit source]

1807--Avoyelles Parish was created 31 March 1807 as an original parish.
Parish seat: Marksville [4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Abt 1856 Some records were destroyed or damaged from unknown causes.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Parishes or Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Avoyelles, Louisiana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the Parish
See Louisiana Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites may have additional information on Avoyelles Parish cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

Church[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.

Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories. Louisiana Museums

Maps[edit | edit source]

LaSalle ParishCatahoula ParishWest Feliciana ParishPointe Coupee ParishSt. Landry ParishEvangeline ParishRapides ParishConcordia ParishMississippiLA AVOYELLES.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, Louisiana Cavalry (Confederate), Company G
Civil War Battles[edit | edit source]

The following Civil War battles were fought in Avoyelles Parish:

Map showing Civil War battles in Louisiana.
World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.

See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Louisiana Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records. Louisiana Records and Statistics Information  ~ where and how to order information.

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
  • 1850-1875, 1894-1960 - Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
  • 1850 Mortality Schedule. Persons who Died during the Year ending 1st June, 1850 in The County/Parish of Avoyelles, State of Louisiana. (Genealogy Trails)
  • 1860 Mortality Schedule. Persons who died during the year ending June 1, 1860, in the Parish of Avoyelles, State of Louisiana. (Genealogy Trails)
  • 1880 Mortality Schedule. Persons who died during the year ending May 31, 1880, in District 1, in the Parish of Avoyelles, State of Louisiana. (Genealogy Trails)

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Commission Des Avoyelles
    PO Box 28
    Hamburg, LA 71339-0028
  • Central Louisiana Genealogical Society
    PO Box 12206
    Alexandria, LA 71315-2206
    Website
  • Louisiana Historical Society
    Website
  • Louisiana Historical Association
    Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Avoyelles, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avoyelles_Parish,_Louisiana."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana p. 289 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State
  7. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State