To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Avnsø Parish, Holbæk, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Avnsø, Holbæk, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Aunsø Church


History[edit | edit source]

Aunsø is and traditionally has been an annex of Viskinge parish.

Avnsø Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Roskilde (Catholic) (Pre-1022-1537), Sjælland (1537-1922), København (1922-Present)
Provsti Skippinge herreds (Early-1808), Holbæk amts (1808-1824), Skippinge og Ods herreders (1824-1972), Ods og Skippinge provsti (1972-Present)
Pastorat (chapelry) Viskinge-Aunsø (Early-Present)
Amtstue Kalundborg (1660-1671, 1671-1878), Holbæk (1878-1971)
Len -1662 Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Kalundborg (1660-1661), Kalundborg, Sæbygårds og Dragsholm amter (in union with Holbæk amt 1671-1683-1707-1793)
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Holbæk (1793-1970), Vestsjællands (1970-Present)
Herred (district) Skippinge
Kommune (municipality) Viskinge-Avnsø (1842-1970), Bjergsted (1970-Present)
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 8
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 51
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 2/363
Gods (estate) Kelleklinte gods; Grevskabet Lerchenborg; Vesterbygård gods; Avnsøgaard gods; Birkendegaard gods;


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Avnsø (Agnsø), Avnsøgaard, Avnsøgaard, Hdg., Avnsøgaards Hovmark, Avnsøgaards Markhus,

Dejvad,

Gammel Øresø,

Højbjerg, Højbjærg Hus,

Kongens Mølle, Kongens-Mølle Hus,

Ringholm, Ringholmshus,

Snurren, Stenrand, Stenrand Mark, Stenrand, Gd. Og Hse., Stenrandgaards Mark, Svebølle, Svebølle, Lb., Svebøllegavn, Svebøllegavn, Gd., Svebøllegavns Mark, Svebøllegaard,

Tydske Møllen


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, Holbæk Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Denmark, Holbæk" and then select your parish.


References[edit | edit source]

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.2, Holbæk Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1920