To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Aversi Parish, Præstø, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Aversi, Præstø, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Aversi Church

History[edit | edit source]

The priest's farmhouse burned on 9-10 November 1736 and destroyed all parish records prior to this date for both Aversi and its annex, Teestrup. The priest then started a new volume at the start of the next year.

Aversi Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Roskilde (Catholic) (Pre-1022-1537), Sjælland (1537-1922), Roskilde (1922-Present)
Provsti Tybjerg herreds (Early-1808), Præstø amts (1808-1814), Præstø amts nordre provsti (1814-1828), Hammer og Tybjerg herreders (1828-1972), Næstved (1972-Present)
Pastorat (chapelry) Aversi-Teestrup (Early-1888), Aversi-Teestrup-Tybjerg (1888-Post-2000), Tyvelse-Sandby-Vrangstrup-Aversi-Tybjerg (Post-2000-Present)
Amtstue Vordingborg (1660-1797, 1824-1861), Vordingborg og Møn (1797-1824), Præstø (1861-1973)
Len -1662 Vordingborg
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Vordingborg (1660-1750), Vordingborg og Tryggevælde (1750-1803), Præstø (1803-1970), Storstrøms (1970-Present)
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Præstø
Herred (district) Tybjerg
Kommune (municipality) Aversi (1842-1963), Herlufmagle-Tybjerg (1963-1970), Suså (1970-Present)
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 8
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 45
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 2 / 118
Gods (estate) Gisselfeld kloster gods


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Assendrup, Aversi,

Broholmsgaard,

Lille Aversi,

Stavnehus,

Tornelund

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, Præstø Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Denmark, Præstø" and then select your parish.


References[edit | edit source]

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/

-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.3, Sorø, Præstø, og Bornholms Amt, København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1921