Autonomous Community of Galicia, Spain Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Galicia Autonomous Community ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Spain Wiki Topics
Spanish flag.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Country Background
Local Research Resources
Galicia Autonomous Community
Ask the
Community

Autonomous Communities[edit | edit source]

Autonomous communities are larger jurisdictions found within Spain and may contain several provinces. It is both a political and administrative division. The autonomous communities of Spain were created in 1978. To learn more about them please read Autonomous communities of Spain.[1]

History[edit | edit source]

Galicia is an autonomous community of northwestern Spain and historic nationality under the Statute of Autonomy of 1981. It consists of the provinces of A Coruña, Lugo, Ourense and Pontevedra. Galicia is bordered by Portugal to the south, the Spanish autonomous communities of Castile and León and Asturias to the east, the Atlantic Ocean to the west, and the Cantabrian Sea to the north. It is divided into 314 municipalities and the capital is the city of Santiago de Compostela.[2]

Provinces of Galicia[edit | edit source]

Provinces within its jurisdiction include:


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Autonomous communities of Spain," Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Autonomous_communities_of_Spain (accessed October 6, 2020).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Galicia (Spain)," Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Galicia_(Spain) (accessed October 6, 2020).