Austria Jewish Records
|Austria Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
|Jewish Genealogy Research|
- 1 "Austria" Disambiguation
- 2 Online Resources
- 3 Maps of Austria
- 4 Gazetteers of Austria
- 5 History of the Jews in Austria
- 6 JewishGen.org Family Finder
- 7 Austria Jewish Records
- 8 The JewishGen Austria-Czech Database
- 9 GenTeam.at
- 10 Vienna, Austria, Population Cards, 1850-1896
- 11 Help with Austria Jewish Research
- 12 Jewish Records of Vienna
"Austria" Disambiguation[edit | edit source]
Austria may refer to:
- The present-day country of Austria.
- The Austrian Empire (1804-1867)
- Austria-Hungary (1867-1918)
United States census records and arriving passenger lists often simply list the place of birth or origin as "Austria" meaning the Austrian Empire or Austria-Hungary. Careful research is needed to pinpoint the province and city/town.
To view a map showing the Austrian Empire and Austria-Hungary with the associated provinces, click here.
Jewish Research resources on the FamilySearch Wiki are organized primarily by the present-day country, and not by the former designations. If possible, determine the city/town of origin and then search under its present-day country.
Online Resources[edit | edit source]
- 1835-1938 Austria, Vienna, Jewish Vital Records, 1835-1938 at My Heritage - index ($)
- 1945 Ebensee, Austria, Records of Displaced Persons, 1945 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Free Access: USC Shoah Foundation, Holocaust – Jewish Survivor Interviews, index
Maps of Austria[edit | edit source]
- To view the present-day Austria at Google Maps, click here.
- For a Jewish population density map of Europe in 1900, click here.
Gazetteers of Austria[edit | edit source]
- Use the JewishGen Communities Database by clicking here.
History of the Jews in Austria[edit | edit source]
- To read the Wikipedia.org article History of the Jews in Austria, click here.
- Take the Austria Virtual Jewish History Tour.
- Explore: The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe.
JewishGen.org Family Finder[edit source]
Find others, possibly cousins, searching for your family name in the same countries, cities, and villages. Search by clicking JewishGen Family Finder. Free registration required.
- Learn more about available Jewish records by clicking here. Includes additional links.
The JewishGen Austria-Czech Database[edit | edit source]
- More than 360,000 records for Austria and the Czech Republic, from a variety of sources, including: cemetery data, Yizkor books, and Holocaust sources. Requires free registration. To search, click here.
GenTeam.at[edit | edit source]
- GenTeam.at is the Austrian Online Genealogical Databank. Free registration is required. Access GenTeam.at by clicking here.
After logging in, unfold the various databanks by clicking on the "plus" signs. Includes Jewish Communities, Jewish Resignations, Jewish Cemeteries and Graves, etc. Also has an excellent historical gazetteer of Austria and the Czech Republic.
Vienna, Austria, Population Cards, 1850-1896[edit | edit source]
- Computer-indexed portion (only a fraction are computer-indexed): Click here - How to Use this Collection
- Microfilms of alphabetized cards (complete collection): Click here.
- Note: Alphabetical order on the above films is as follows (A), (Au), (E, Ä, Ö), (Ei, Eu, Ej, Ey, Ai, Aj, Ay), (I, Ie, J, Ü, Y), (O, Ou), (U), (B, P), (C, G, K, Q, X, Ch, Ck, Cs, Cz, Ks), (D, T, Th), (F, V, W), (H), (L), (M), (N, Nck, Ng, Nk), (R), (S, Sch, Sz, Cz, Tsch, Tz, Z)
Help with Austria Jewish Research[edit | edit source]
- Access the JewishGen.org Austria-Czech Special Interest Group (SIG) by clicking here.
- Access the Facebook Austria Genealogy Research Community by clicking here.
For information regarding Jewish persons in Austria during the Holocaust please check Dokumentationsarchiv des Österreichischen Widerstandes .
List of People Expelled from the University of Vienna in 1938
It was reported on JewishGen that the University of Vienna has published a database of 2,700 persons, mostly Jews, who were discharged or expelled in 1938. Among these persons are professors, students and employees of the university. This database is available at http://gedenkbuch.univie.ac.at/index.php?id=429&L=2
Jewish Records of Vienna[edit | edit source]
When Poland was partitioned among its neighbors in 1795, the Austrian Empire (later the Austro-Hungarian Empire) received the southeastern portion of the country heavily populated by the Jews, which it named Galicia. Since internal boundaries did not exist within the Austrian Empire, many impoverished Galician Jews migrated to the capital, Vienna. By the end of the 19th century, Vienna had become a major center of European Jewry. On the eve of World War II, it had the third largest Jewish population in Europe (after Warsaw and Budapest).
Jewish genealogists with roots in Galicia should look for family branches in Vienna, especially if the family name was relatively uncommon. This task is made easier by two large collections of records available from the Family History Library, the Jewish birth, marriage and death records up to 1939 and the invaluable collection of residency books (Meldezettel). For more information about Viennese Registration see Fall 2000 (Volume XVI, Number 3) issue of Avotaynu. (Family History Library INTL book 296.05 Av79).
During the 1950s and 1960s, the Jewish community of Vienna deposited the majority of its records with The Central Archives for the History of the Jewish People Jerusalem (CAHJP). The collection includes material dealing with the religious, community and government matters from the 17th to the 20th century (up to 1945), but mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection does not have birth, marriage or death records. Material of genealogical value may be found in voters' lists, taxpayers' lists, lists of potential 1930s emigrants, lists of deportees and a complete list of the Jews in Vienna in 1939.
A detailed inventory of more than 400 pages, written in German, is posted on the Archives' website. The inventory has a detailed table of contents (Aktenverzeichnis) and is divided into two main sections- up to the Anschluss (annexation of Austria by Nazi Germany in March 1938) and following the Anschluss. From the home page, click on "Examples of Holdings/Countries". When under Austria, click on the link "Vienna, Jewish community archives (1648-1970)."
A Wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
For more information on Jewish Records of Vienna including a case study see an article Resources for Records of Vienna by by George Arnstein, Hadassah Assouline and Sallyann Amdur Sack, published in the Avotaynu, Volume XX, Number 1, Spring 2004. (Family History Library INTL book 296.05 Av79).