To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Austevoll Parish, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Austevoll, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Austevoll Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bergenhus
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1763: Bergenhus, 1763-1919: Søndre Bergenhus
Fylke 1919-Present Hordaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Austevold
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Austevold
Fogderi Nordhordland
Sorenskriveri Midthordland
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Austevoll prestegjeld (clerical district).   Contains the parish registers for Austevoll (Østervold) and Møkster. They were separated from Sund clerical district in 1910. For earlier records see Sund clerical district.  Records available from 1852-1925.

Images of digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Austevoll: 1901-1939
Austevoll/Austevoll: 1901-1938
Austevoll/Møkster: 1911-1939


For earlier records see Sund

Census Records[edit | edit source]

See Sund for records before 1900

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Tufteland, Johan, 1913-: Austevoll: gard og ætt. Genealogies from Austevoll and Møkster parishes. Contents: v. 1. Møkster sokn -- v. 2. Austevoll sokn -- v. 3. Tidlegare, Bekkjarvik, Kapellsokn. FHL 948.32/A4 D2

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

37 Austevold,

38 Bakholmen vestre, Bakkesund, Bekkjarvik, 42 Birkeland, 44 Bjaanes, Bjånesøy, 45 Bjelland, 43 Blaasternes, Blænes, 48 Bratten, Brekke, 57 Busesund,

56 Drønen,

Eikholm,

Gauksheim, Grasdal, Gåsnes,

40 Haugland, 46 Haukenes, 54 Heiemark, Hilarøy, Horgo, 41 Hufthammer, Hundvåkøy, Husavik, Hustarøy,

46 Kolbenshavn, 58 Kolbensvik, 31 Krosshavn,

43 Lilletræet,

36 Mælingen,

52 Nausheller, 58 Nauthellen, 50 Nordeid, 43 Notenes, Nova,

Otterå,

Pirholmen Austre, 39 Pirholmen Vestre,

56 Rostesund, 43 Rostøy,

49 Saatendal, 31 Sandtorr, 47 Sandvik, 32 Skaar, 43 Storebø, 55 Straumsøy, Sætre, Såtendal, 51 Søreide, Sørvik,

34 Toranger, 35 Troland, Tøkje,

Uglenes,

53 Vasnes, Veggenese, Vinnes, Vik,

33 Økland.

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Magneson, Roger Dean, 1950: Halvor Magneson's descent.

Contains: 1. Halvor M. Magneson's descent from the Galtung and Smør families of Austevoll, Fitjar, Stord, and Sund parishes of Hordaland, Norway -- 2. Halvor M. Magneson's descent from the viking kings.

Number 1 contains a pedigree chart, ahnenlist, and genealogical table connecting Halvor M. Magneson (1876-1942) to the prominent Galtung and Smør families. Number 2 contains a pedigree chart and 8 genealogical tables connecting Halvor M. Magneson (1876-1942) to the viking kings. FHL 929.2481 M274

To view a digital version of no 1 click here, for version no 2 click here

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1702-1910: Records are found in Nordhordaland judicial district.

1800-1852: Some of the farms in this parish belonged to Lysekloster Estate. If the probate is not found in the district above look at Hardanger og Voss where the probates for Lysekloster were kept.

1773-1810: Clerical probate records are found in Nordhordaland Deanery.

Return to Hordaland County

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names