To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Augusta Parish, Augusta County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Augusta Parish, Augusta County ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

Augusta Parish serves Augusta County, Virginia. Located in Staunton, it has since been renamed Trinity Church. Trinity Chapel also served parishioners.[1]

A chapel of ease, built in 1747, served parishioners in what is now Rockingham County, Virginia.[2]

Founded[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

More than 100 tombstones from Trinity Episcopal Churchyard are described at Find A Grave.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Augusta Parish reports:[4]

Bibliography[edit | edit source]
  • Van Devanter, J.N. History of the Augusta Church from 1737 to 1900. Staunton, Va.: The Ross Printing Company, 1900. Digital version at Google Books.
  • Ruffin, Beverley. Augusta Parish, Virginia, 1738-1780. Verona, Va.: McClure Press, 1970. Available at FHL Book 975.5916 K2r.

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial parish registers have been lost.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Francis Lister Hawks, A Narrative of Events Connected with the Rise and Progress of the Protestant Episcopal Church in Virginia: To Which is Added an Appendix, Containing the Journals of the Conventions in Virginia from the Commencement to the Present Time (New York: Harper and Brothers, 1836), 307. Digital version at Google Books.
  2. First Church in Rockingham County, The Historical Marker Database
  3. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  4. Francis Lister Hawks, A Narrative of Events Connected with the Rise and Progress of the Protestant Episcopal Church in Virginia: To Which is Added an Appendix, Containing the Journals of the Conventions in Virginia from the Commencement to the Present Time (New York: Harper and Brothers, 1836). Digital version at Google Books.