To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Augusta County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Augusta County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Augusta County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Augusta County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Augusta County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded August 1, 1738
County Seat Staunton
Courthouse
VirginiaAugustaCourthouse.jpg


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Augusta County is located in the Shenandoah Valley of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for the Princess of Wales[1].

Augusta County Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Augusta County, Virginia
6 East Johnson Street
Staunton, Virginia 24401-4303
Phone:540-245-5321

Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1853-1896
marriage records from 1785, probate and land records from 1745,
property tax records 1800-1851, land tax records from 1786 and court claims 1782-1785[2]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1785 1853 1782 1745 1745 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Augusta County Virginia History[edit | edit source]

The county was named after Princess Augusta of Saxe-Gotha-Alternburg (1719-1772), who through marriage to Frederick, Prince of Wales (1707-1751), became the Princess of Wales in 1736.

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1738--Augusta County was created 1 August 1738 from Orange County.
County seat: Staunton [2]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, visit "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Augusta County Virginia Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Augusta County. By John Frederick Dorman. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 4, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1960):80-86. CD available at: American Ancestors ($).
  • Finding Your People in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia: A Genealogical Guide. c1998. By Rebecca H. Good and Rebecca A. Ebert. Bowie, Maryland : Heritage Books. Online at: Internet Archive, FHL Book 975 D27e 1998.

African American[edit | edit source]

Augusta County, Virginia Genealogy cohabitation records are available online.

Registers of free African Americans who lived in Augusta County, Virginia before the Civil War have been published in book form and online:

  • The Registers of Free Blacks 1810-1864, Augusta County, Virginia and Staunton, Virginia. 1989. By Katherine G. Bushman. Verona, Virginia : Mid-Valley Press. FHL US/CAN Book 975.591 F2b.
  • The Valley of the Shadow website has the  Register of Free Blacks in Augusta County, Virginia, 1803-1845.  Site also has a link to the Staunton City Register.

Additional resources about Augusta County's free African Americans include:

Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in the Virginia Gazette and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia.

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:

  • Givens - Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. By William F. Boogher. 2007. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co. Online at: Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes transcript of the bible of Robert Givens, of Lincoln County, KY, 1759-1802, and his declaration of services rendered. See pp. 223-226.

Biography[edit | edit source]

  • McFerrin - John B. McFerrin, a Biography. 1888. By O.P. Fitzgerald. Nashville, Tennessee : Publishing House of the M. E. Church, South. Online at: FamilySearch Online Books.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
VAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Virginia Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

For a more detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Augusta County, Virginia Cemeteries.

The following is a list of cemeteries in Augusta County:[4]

  • Allen Cemetery
  • Augusta Memorial Gardens
  • Bazzrea Family Cemetery
  • Bells Cemetery
  • Belmont Cemetery
  • Cash Cemetery
  • Click Cemetery
  • Cline Cemetery
  • Community Memorial Cemetery
  • Craigsville Memorial Cemetery
  • Croft Cemetery
  • Crosby Cemetery
  • Deerfield Community Cemetery
  • Edgewood Cemetery
  • Glebe Cemetery
  • Green Hill Cemetery
  • Greenville Cemetery
  • Hildebrand Cemetery
  • Hunters Cemetery
  • Jerusalem United Brethren Church Cemetery
  • Landes Cemetery
  • Melanchthon Lutheran Chapel Cemetery
  • Miller Memorial Baptist Church Cemetery
  • Moscow Church of the Brethren Cemetery
  • Mount Chapel Cemetery
  • Mount Herman Cemetery
  • Mount Lebanon Cemetery
  • Mountain View Cemetery
  • Naked Creek Cemetery
  • Oak Hill Cemetery
  • Oak Lawn Memory Gardens
  • Old Cemetery
  • Old Forge Cemetery
  • Old Salem Cemetery
  • Rocky Springs Cemetery
  • Saint Paul Cemetery
  • Schutterie Cemetery
  • Sellers Cemetery
  • Staunton National Cemetery
  • Thornrose Cemetery
  • West Augusta Cemetery

The Genealogy Center at Allen County Public Library (Indiana) has searchable databases for a number of Augusta County cemeteries.

  • Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. By William F. Boogher. 2007. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co. Online at: Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Partial List of Early Settlers, Revolutionary Soldiers and the Graves of Augusta County Soldiers Located to Date. 1935. By Fannie Bayly. King. Staunton, Virginia : n.p. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL US/CAN Film 850091 Item 7. Also includes immigrants 1739-1740, some French and Indian War soldiers, and some dissenting preachers (ca. 1750-1840).

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Augusta County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.


 

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 10,886
1800 11,712 7.6%
1810 14,308 22.2%
1820 16,742 17.0%
1830 19,926 19.0%
1840 19,628 −1.5%
1850 24,610 25.4%
1860 27,749 12.8%
1870 28,763 3.7%
1880 35,710 24.2%
1890 37,005 3.6%
1900 32,370 −12.5%
1910 32,445 0.2%
1920 34,671 6.9%
1930 38,163 10.1%
1940 42,772 12.1%
1950 34,154 −20.1%
1960 37,363 9.4%
1970 44,220 18.4%
1980 53,732 21.5%
1990 54,677 1.8%
2000 65,615 20.0%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1810

  • 1810 Census of Augusta County, Virginia. 1968. By V. Beverly. Virginia : Crickard. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL Collection US/CAN Access Services Window 6015641.

1840

  • 1840 Augusta County, Virginia Census. By James L. Douthat. Signal Mountain, TN : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($).

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Partial List of Early Settlers, Revolutionary Soldiers and the Graves of Augusta County Soldiers Located to Date. 1935. By Fannie Bayly. King. Staunton, Virginia : n.p. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL US/CAN Film 850091 Item 7. Includes a list of dissenting preachers (ca. 1750-1840).
Baptist[edit | edit source]

The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.


Linville Creek Baptist Church. Also called Smith's Creek. Constituted 1756.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

go to See also Augusta Parish, Virginia

  • Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia. 1861. By William Meade. 2 vols. Philadelphia, PA : J.B. Lippincott and Co. Online at: Internet Archive Vol. I and Internet Archive Vol. II. Meade's history of parishes in Augusta County begins on pg 317.
German Reformed[edit | edit source]
  • Shenandoah Valley Family Data, 1799-1813: From the Memorandum Book of Pastor Johannes Braun. 1978. By Johannes Klaus Wust Braun and Joseph H. Meyerhoeffer. Edinburg, Virginia : Shenandoah History Publishers. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 K2bjo.
  • St. John's Church Register, German Reformed and Lutheran, Augusta County, Virginia, (1748) 1786-1872. 1995. By Peggy Shomo Joyner. Portsmouth, Virginia : P.S. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5916 K2j.
Lutheran[edit | edit source]
  • St. John's Church Register, German Reformed and Lutheran, Augusta County, Virginia, (1748) 1786-1872. 1995. By Peggy Shomo Joyner. Portsmouth, Virginia : P.S. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5916 K2j.
Presbyterian[edit | edit source]

Early Presbyterian Churches (with years constituted):

  • Augusta Stone (1740)[5]
  • Bethel (1746)[5]
  • First Presbyterian Church (1818), Staunton, Va.[5]
  • Hebron (1746)[5]
  • Mount Carmel, Steele's Tavern, Va.[5]
  • South Mountain (1743)[5]
  • Stone Meeting House (1793), Old Providence, Spottswood, Va.[5]
  • Tinkling Spring (1738)[5]
  • List of Baptisms by Rev. John Craig, Augusta County, Virginia, 1740-1749. By John Craig. 1982. Staunton, Virginia : L.B. Hatke. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL US/CAN Fiche 6015426.
  • Maxwell History and Genealogy: Including the Allied Families of Alexander, Allen, Bachiler, Batterton, Beveridge, Blaine, Brewster, Brown, Callender, Campbell, Carey, Clark, Cowan, Fox, Dinwiddie, Dunn, Eylar, Garretson, Gentry, Guthrie, Houston, Howard, Howe, Hughes, Hussey, Irvine, Johnson, Kimes, McCullough, Moore, Pemberton, Rosenmuller, Smith, Stap, Teter, Tilford, Uzzell, Vawter, Ver Planck, Walker, Wiley, Wilson; Also Baptismal Record of the Rev. John Craig, D.D., of Augusta County, Virignia, 1740-1749, Containing One Thousand Four Hundred and Seventy-four Names (First Publication of the Original Record). 1916. By Florence Wilson Houston, Laura Cowan Blaine, and Ella Dunn Mellette. Indianapolis, Indiana: Press of C.E. Pauley, Indianapolis Engraving Co. Online at: Google Books.
  • Reverend John Craig 1709-1774: His Descendants and Allied Families. 1963. By Lillian Kennerly Craig. New Orleans, Louisiana : Accurate Letter Co. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 C844c. Founder of Tinkling Spring Presbyterian Church.
  • The First Presbyterian Church, Staunton, Virginia. 1908. By Arista Hoge. Staunton, Virginia : Caldwell-Sites. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.

Court[edit | edit source]

County Court

  • Chronicles of the Scotch-Irish Settlement in Virginia. 1912. By Lyman Chalkley. 3 vols. Rosslyn, Virginia : The Commonwealth Printing Co. Online at: RootsWeb, Google Books Vol 1 only, Hathitrust Vol 2 only. Volume 1 includes abstracts of Court Order Books 1-24 (1745-1799) and Court Judgments - continues in Volume 2.

Pennsylvania Courts

  • The County Court for the District of West Augusta, Virginia: Held at Augusta Town, Near Washington, Pennsylvania, 1776-1777. 1905. By Boyd Crumrine and Washington County Historical Society, Washington, PA. Printed by the Observer Job Rooms for the Washington County Historical Society. Online at: Google Books.
  • Virginia Court Records in Southwestern Pennsylvania: Records of the District of West Augusta and Ohio and Yohogania Counties, Virginia, 1775-1780. 1974. By Boyd Crumrine and Inez Raney Waldenmaier. Baltimore, Maryland : Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 974.88 P2c.

Chancery

Directories[edit | edit source]

  • A Directory of the Representative Business and Professional Men of Augusta County and Staunton, Va. 1899. n.p. : Rohrer & Diamond. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL Collection.

DNA[edit | edit source]

DNA Double Helix.png
DNA has been collected from purported descendants of the following Augusta County, Virginia residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.
  • [McClure] Multiple descendants of Halbert McClure, b. 1685 Raphoe Parish, County Donegal, Ireland, d. 1754 near Timber Ridge, Augusta (now Rockbridge) County, Virginia. Y-DNA 12, 25, and 67 Marker Tests, FTDNA (Kits 25104, 33804, 62193, 137959). Genetic signatures online at: McClure DNA Project (labelled Lineage 1 Halbert McClure (son of James) 1685 N. Ire-1754 Va Branch: MA-1, M-9, M-22, M-29, M-33).

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

More than 1000 genealogies have been published about Augusta County families. To view a list, visit Augusta County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.

  • Most Distinguished Characters of the American Frontier : Robert Looney (b 1692-1702 d 1770) of Augusta (now Botetourt) County, Virginia and Some of His Descendants with Histories of the Great Road, Looney's Ferry, Crow's Ferry, Anderson's Ferry, Boyd's Ferry and Beale's Bridge. c1998-2008. By Madge Looney Crane, Phillip L. Crane. Apollo, Pennsylvania : Closson Press. At various libraries (WorldCat).

Immigration[edit | edit source]

  • Partial List of Early Settlers, Revolutionary Soldiers and the Graves of Augusta County Soldiers Located to Date. 1935. By Fannie Bayly. King. Staunton, Virginia : n.p. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL US/CAN Film 850091 Item 7. Also includes immigrants 1739-1740, some French and Indian War soldiers, and some dissenting preachers (ca. 1750-1840).
  • Items from Southern Record. By Milnor Ljungstedt. The American Genealogist, Vol. 15 (1938):95-104. FHL US/CAN Book 973 D25aga. Shows Family and Trade Connections with Northern Colonies and the Home Countries.
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Brunswick County are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

An early settlers map is available for Beverley Manor in Augusta County. The cartographer plots the locations of pioneers' land tracts. FHL Map 975.5916 E7h, FHL Map 975.5 E7hjr. An alphabetical listing is available: FHL Book 975.5916 E7h supp. 1.

An early settlers map showing the purchasers of the 92,100 acre grant to Benjamin Borden on the west side of the Blue Ridge Mountains (1739) FHL Map 975.5 E7hi.

Augusta County Property Book 1876 Virginia Pioneers ($).

Deeds

  • Chronicles of the Scotch-Irish Settlement in Virginia. 1912. By Lyman Chalkley. 3 vols. Rosslyn, Virginia : The Commonwealth Printing Co. Online at: RootsWeb, Google Books Vol 1 only, Hathitrust Vol 2 only. Volume 1 includes abstracts of Court Order Books 1-24 (1745-1799) and Court Judgments - continues in Volume 2.

Grants and Patents

  • Abstract of Land Grant Surveys of Augusta and Rockingham Counties, Virginia, 1761-1791. 1938. By Peter Cline Kaylor. Dayton, VA : Shenandoah Press. Online at: Google Books.
  • Sims Index to Land Grants in West Virginia. c1992. By Edgar Barr Sims. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. FHL US/CAN Book 975.4 R22w 1992.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • A History of the Valley of Virginia. 1833. By Samuel Kercheval. Winchester, Virginia : Samuel H. Davis. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books.
  • Annals of Augusta County, Virginia, from 1726 to 1871. 1902 Second Edition. By Joseph Addison Waddell. Bridgewater, Virginia : C.J. Carrier. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books.
  • Annals of Augusta County, Virginia : With Reminiscences, Biographical Sketches, a Diary of the War, 1861-'5 and a Chapter on Reconstruction with Supplement. 1888. By Joseph Addison Waddell. Richmond, Virginia : J. W. Randolph & English, Publishers. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
  • Annals of Augusta County, Virginia, With Reminiscences Illustrative of the Vicissitudes of Its Pioneer Settlers ... 1886. By Joseph Addison Waddell. Richmond, Virginia : Wm. Ellis Jones, Book and Job Printer. Online at: FamilySearch Online Books, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books. 1888 Supplement. Richmond, Virginia : J. W. Randolph & English, Publishers. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, Hathitrust.
  • Augusta County, Virginia in the History of the United States. 1918. By Boutwell Dunlap. Frankfort, Kentucky : The Kentucky State Historical Society, Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, Hathitrust, Google Books.
  • Beautiful Thornrose. 1921. By Artista Hoge. n.p. : Staunton, Virginia. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
  • Early History of Staunton and Beverley Manor in Augusta County, Virginia. 1963. By Edward Aull. Birmingham, AL : Aull. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 A1 no. 40.
  • Historical Notes from the Records of Augusta County, Virginia. 1979. By Charles Edward Kemper. Lancaster, PA : Historical Society. Online at: Ancestry ($). FHL US/CAN Fiche 6015425.
  • History of Augusta County, Virginia. By John Lewis Peyton. 1882. Staunton, Virginia : Samuel M. Yost & Son. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books.
  • History of Washington County from Its First Settlement to the Present Time, First Under Virginia as Yohogania, Ohio, or Augusta County Until 1781, and Subsequently Under Pennsylvania; With Sketch of all the Townships, Boroughs, and Villages, Etc.; and to Which is Added a Full Account of the Celebrated Mason and Dixon's Line, the Whiskey Insurrection, Indian Warfare, Traditional and Local Historical Events. 1871. By Alfred Creigh. Harrisburg, Pennsylvania : B. Singerly, Printer. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, Google Books.
  • Name Index to Peyton's History of Augusta County, Virginia. 1935. By A. M. Prichard. Richmond, Virginia : L. B. Hatke. Online at: Hathitrust, Ancestry ($). FHL US/CAN Film 982336 Item 6.
  • The City of Staunton, Augusta County, Virginia, and the Surrounding Country: Their Condition, Resources and Advantages, and the Inducements They Offer to Those Seeking Homes or Places for Business, Investments, etc. 1878. By Jedediah Hotchkiss. Staunton, Virginia : D.E. Strasburg. Online at: Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). FHL US/CAN Fiche 6015433.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Staunton (Independent City)Waynesboro (Independent City)Albemarle CountyNelson CountyRockbridge CountyBath CountyHighland CountyRockingham CountyPendleton CountyVA AUGUSTA.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


  • An Historical Map of Augusta County, Virginia 1732-1872: Compiled from Old Maps, Historical Records and Traditions. 1933. By John R. Hildebrand. Virginia : J.R. Hildebrand. FHL US/CAN Map Case 975.5916 E7hi.
  • Early Settlement in Beverley Manor, Augusta County, Virginia. By John S. Hale. Staunton, Virginia : Old Dominion Map Co. Creative Cartographers. FHL US/CAN Map Case 975.5916 E7h. The map shows the boundaries of each holding, the name of the grantee, and the date of purchase.
  • Historical Atlas of Augusta County, Virginia: Maps from Original Surveys by Jed. Hotchkiss, its Annals by Joseph A. Waddell, Physiography by Jed. Hotchkiss. 1885. By Jed Hotchkiss, Shepard & Johnston, Joseph A. Waddell. Chicago, Illinois : Waterman, Watkins & Company. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
  • The Beverley Patent, 1736: Including Original Grantees, 1738-1815 in Orange & Augusta Counties, Va. 1954. By John R. Hildebrand. FHL US/CAN Map Case 975.5 E7hjr.

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist. Vol. 19, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1975):248-254; Vol. 21, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1977):113-118; Vol. 22, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1978):194-202; Vol. 22, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1978):279-286; Vol. 23, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1979):31-38; Vol. 23, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1979):113-119; Vol. 23, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1979):195-198. Online at: FHL, American Ancestors ($).

These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Augusta County's 1782-1785 [sic] Delinquent Lists appear on 22:194-202; 1786-1787 Delinquent Lists appear on 22:279-286 and 23:31-37; additional 1787 Delinquent List appears on 21:113-114; additional 1787 Delinquent List appears on 23:113-119; 1788 Delinquent List appears on 19:248-250 and 23:195-198.

  • Some Early Settlers in Washington County, Tennessee. By Ann Lusk. Bulletin of the Watauga Association of Genealogists, Vol. 34, No. 3 (2005):143-145. Lusk identifies many residents of Augusta County who migrated to pioneer Washington County, Tennessee.

Military[edit | edit source]

Colonial Militia[edit | edit source]
French and Indian War[edit | edit source]
  • Augusta County, Virginia Indian Wars 1754-1764. 2007. By Lyman Copeland Draper. Signal Mountain, TN : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($). "Lyman Draper, one of the countries earliest historians recorded the names of those either killed, wounded, or taken prisoners by the enemy in Augusta County. At this time, Augusta County covered a great deal of the upper part of the eastern United States with over seven states being taken from it in total or in part. These listings included those on the Monongalia, Holston, New, Greenbrier Rivers, Reed Creek, South Branch, Fort Vause, Jackson’s River and many other areas of the east."
  • Early Western Augusta Pioneers. 2001. By George Washington Cleek. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. By William F. Boogher. 2007. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co. Online at: Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Augusta County, see pp. 30-58, 104-107.
  • Partial List of Early Settlers, Revolutionary Soldiers and the Graves of Augusta County Soldiers Located to Date. 1935. By Fannie Bayly. King. Staunton, Virginia : n.p. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL US/CAN Film 850091 Item 7. Also includes immigrants 1739-1740, some French and Indian War soldiers, and some dissenting preachers (ca. 1750-1840).
  • Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. By William Armstrong Crozier. 1954. Baltimore : Southern Book Co. Online at: Internet Archive, Hathitrust, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL.
Dunmore's War[edit | edit source]
  • Augusta, Bedford, Botetourt, Culpeper and Fincastle Payrolls and Public Service Claims, 1775: Also Known as Dunmore's War: Enlarged and Photocopied. Fort Wayne, Indiana: Allen County Public Library, 2004. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
  • Some Virginia Revolutionary War and Pension Records in Augusta and Rockbridge Counties, 1776-1833. 1952-1953. By Mrs D.L. Norris and Mrs. Rudolph; Daughters of the American Revolution. Salt Lake City, UT : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1970. FHL US/CAN Film 850091 Item 8. Includes abstracts of records concerning Dunmore's War.
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Augusta County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Augusta County supplied soldiers for the:

- 8th Virginia Regiment
- 9th Virginia Regiment
- 10th Virginia Regiment
- 12th Virginia Regiment (1st and 8th Companies)[6]

Writing in 1889, local historian Waddell wrote, "It is impossible to obtain any list or particular account of troops furnished by Augusta County during the Revolutionary War, and the names of only a few comparatively of the soldiers have escaped oblivion."[7] Has this conclusion held true or been disproven?

Additional resources:

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Online at: U.S. Census Bureau, Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Augusta County on page 133.
  • Augusta County, Virginia, Court of Claims, 1782-1785. 1970. By Katherine G. Bushman. FHL US/CAN Film 858643 Item 5.
  • Early Western Augusta Pioneers. 2001. By George Washington Cleek. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. 2007. By William F. Boogher. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co. Online at: Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a chapter titled "List of Militiamen in Captain John Given's Company, Augusta County, Virginia, from October 16, 1777, to March 15, 1782, inclusive, with transcript of the bible of Robert Givens, of Lincoln county, Ky., 1759-1802, and his declaration of services rendered." See pp. 223-226.
  • Index to Revolutionary Pension and Bounty-Land Documents at the Library of Virginia. 2012. Compiled by C. Leon Harris. Online at: Library of Virginia.
  • Partial List of Early Settlers, Revolutionary Soldiers and the Graves of Augusta County Soldiers Located to Date. 1935. By Fannie Bayly. King. Staunton, Virginia : n.p. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL US/CAN Film 850091 Item 7. Also includes immigrants 1739-1740, some French and Indian War soldiers, and some dissenting preachers (ca. 1750-1840).
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969 and 1991. Reprints include an Added Index to States. Online at: Ancestry. FHL Collection. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Some Virginia Revolutionary War and Pension Records in Augusta and Rockbridge Counties, 1776-1833. 1952-1953. By Mrs D.L. Norris and Mrs. Rudolph; Daughters of the American Revolution. Salt Lake City, UT : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1970. FHL US/CAN Film 850091 Item 8. Includes abstracts of records concerning Dunmore's War.
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data. c1913. By J. T. McAllister. Hot Springs, Virginia : McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
War of 1812[edit | edit source]

Augusta County men served in the 32nd and 93rd Regiments.[8]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Augusta County, pp. 62-63.
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Augusta County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Augusta County, Virginia Genealogy:


- 1st Battalion, Virginia Cavalry, Local Defense (Confederate). Company E (Valley Rangers)
- 1st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).
- 5th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Mountain Guard), Company D (Southern Guard), Company E (Augusta Greys), Company F (West View Infantry), Company G (Staunton Rifles), Company H (Augusta Rifles), Company I (Ready Rifles), Company L (West Augusta Guard).[9]
- 7th Battalion, Virginia Infantry, Local Defense (1st Nitre Battalion) (Confederate). Company D.[10]
- 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company C (Valley Cavalry or Rangers) and Company I (Churchville Cavalry).[11]
- 23rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F.[12]
- 25th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Heck's) (Confederate). Company C (Augusta Lee Rifles).[13]
- 52nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies A (Augusta Fencibles), B2 (Waynesboro Guards), C (Letcher Guard), D (Harper Guard), F, G (Veteran Guards), H (Staunton Pioneers), and I (Men of West Augusta).[14]
- 62nd Regiment, Virginia Mounted Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Valley Rifles).[15]

Many records and histories are available, including:

An interesting study, called the Valley of the Shadow Project, has collected military and private papers detailing the experience of the Civil War in Franklin County, Pennsylvania and Augusta County, Virginia.

  • Early Western Augusta Pioneers. 2001. By George Washington Cleek. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Online at: Ancestry.
Civil War Battles[edit | edit source]

The following Civil War battles were fought in Augusta County:

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]

Native Americans[edit | edit source]

  • Chester County Historical Society (West Chester, Pennsylvania). Genealogical Manuscripts Up to 1968. MSS., microfilmed in 1968, available at FHL 104 Rolls. Includes: Copy of the deed from the six united nations of Indians to the American colonies, as recorded in deed book 22 in the Clerk's office of the Circuit Court of Augusta County, Virginia, in the courthouse at Staunton, Va.

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Augusta County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.


Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Mercantile Adventures in Early Virginia, John Stewart, Tailor of Augusta and Botetourt Counties. By William C. Stewart. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 11, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1967):3-11; Vol. 11, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1967):61-66. Online at: American Ancestors ($), FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. By George Barton Cutten. 1952. Richmond, Virginia : The Dietz Press, Incorporated. Online at: Hathitrust; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes sections on Staunton and Waynesboro silversmiths.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

The Blount Journal

Genealogical articles with abstracts of Augusta County, Virginia records have been published in The Blount Journal, the publication of the Blount County Genealogical and Historical Society which began in 1985 and is still in print. Past issues can be purchased online from a list that includes issue contents. The Family History Library has acquired most volumes FHL US/CAN Book 976.8885 B2b.

Petitions[edit | edit source]

  • A Calendar of Legislative Petitions Arranged by Counties Accomac - Bedford (Virginia State Library). By H.J. Eckenrode. 1908. Richmond, Virginia : Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing. Online at: Google Books. Augusta County petitions (1776-1864) are described on pp. 135-185.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

  • Chronicles of the Scotch-Irish Settlement in Virginia. 1912. By Lyman Chalkley. 3 vols. Rosslyn, Virginia : The Commonwealth Printing Co. Online at: RootsWeb, Google Books Vol 1 only, Hathitrust Vol 2 only. Volume 3 includes abstracts of Will Books 1-12; Volume 2 includes abstracts of administrator's bonds and guardian's bonds.
  • Copies of Wills of Early Settlers in Augusta County, Virginia. By Frances Lee Wilson Rudolph. 1950. FHL.
  • Digital Images of Augusta County Wills 1745-1753. See names of Testators. Virginia Pioneers ($).

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Online Augusta County, Virginia Tax Lists
Type Index Images
Free FHC Fee Free FHC Fee
Delinquents 1748 - - - - -
Delinquents 1750 - - - - -
Delinquents 1752 - - - - -
Delinquents 1753-4 - - - - -
Delinquents 1755 - - - - -
Delinquents 1756 - - - - -
Delinquents 1766 - - - - -
Delinquents 1767 - - - - -
Delinquents 1768 - - - - -
Delinquents 1773-74 - - - - -
Tithes - - - - 1777 -
Tithes - - - - 1778 -
Delinquents 1779 - - - - -
Tithes 1781 - - - - -
Delinquents 1782 - 1782 - - -
Personal Property 1782 - - 1782 1782 1782
Personal Property 1783 - - 1783 1783 1783
Tithes 1783 - - - - -
Delinquents 1783 - 1783 - - -
Delinquents 1784 - 1784 - - -
Personal Property - - - 1784 1784 1784
Personal Property - - - 1785 1785 1785
Delinquents 1785 - 1785 - - -
Delinquents 1786 1|2 - 1786 - - -
Personal Property - - - 1786 1786 1786
Delinquents - - 1787, 1787, 1787 - - -
Personal Property - - - 1787 1787 1787
Personal Property - - - 1788 1788 1788
Delinquents - - 1788, 1788 - - -
Personal Property - - - 1789 1789 1789
Delinquents 1790 - - - - -
Personal Property 1790 - - 1790, 1790 1790 1790
Personal Property - - - - 1791 1791
Delinquents 1791 - - - - -
Delinquents 1792 - - - - -
Personal Property - - - - 1792 1792
Personal Property - - - - 1793 1793
Delinquents 1793 - - - - -
Delinquents 1794 - - - - -
Personal Property - - - - 1794 1794
Personal Property - - - - 1795 1795
Personal Property - - - - 1796-1799 -
Delinquents 1795 - - - - -
Delinquents 1796 - - - - -
Delinquents 1797 - - - - -
Delinquents 1798 - - - - -
Delinquents 1799 - - - - -
Delinquents 1800 - - - - -
Personal Property 1800, 1800 1|2|3 - - 1800 - -
Personal Property - - - - 1801-1851 -
Delinquents 1801 - - - - -
Delinquents 1802 - - - - -
Delinquents 1803 - - - - -
Delinquents 1804 - - - - -

How can Virginia tax lists help me?

Bibliography

  • 1730-1754 - Abstracts of Virginia's Northern Neck Warrants and Surveys. 1985. By Peggy Shomo Joyner. Portsmouth, Virginia : P.S. Joyner. Vol. 1 Orange & Augusta counties with tithables, delinquents, petitioners, 1730-1754. FHL 975.5 R2j.
  • 1748-1804 - Chronicles of the Scotch-Irish Settlement in Virginia. 1912. By Lyman Chalkley. 3 vols. Rosslyn, Virginia : The Commonwealth Printing Co. Online at: RootsWeb, Google Books Vol 1 only, Hathitrust Vol 2 only. Volume 3 includes abstracts of Will Books 1-12; Volume 2 includes abstracts of administrator's bonds and guardian's bonds. Includes abstracts of delinquents and insolvents for the years 1748 to 1804 on pp. 413-429.
  • 1764-1765, 1769 - Tax List, 1764-65, 1769. Augusta Historical Bulletin, Vol. 8, No. 2 (Fall 1972).
  • 1777-1778 - Augusta County, Virginia List of Tithables, 1777-1778. FHL 30312. Original records, Library of Virginia, Richmond, Virginia.
  • 1777 - Augusta Tithables List, 1777. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 39, No. 1 (Aug. 2001); Vol. 39, No. 4 (Nov. 2001); Vol. 40, No. 4 (Nov. 2002); Vol. 41, No. 2 (May 2003); Vol. 42, No. 2 (May 2004); Vol. 42, No. 3 (Aug. 2004); Vol. 42, No. 4 (Nov. 2004); Vol. 43, No. 2 (May 2005); Vol. 43, No. 4 (Nov. 2005); Vol. 44, No. 1 (Feb. 2006); Vol. 44, No. 2 (May 2006); Vol. 44, No. 3 (Aug. 2006); Vol. 44, No. 4 (Nov. 2006). FHL 975.5 B2vs; Vols. 39 and 40 online at: Ancestry ($).
  • 1777 - Tithables, 1777. Allegheny Regional Ancestors, Vol. 2, No. 4 (Winter 1993). FHL 975.4 D25a v. 1-2
  • 1781-1784 - Chronicles of the Scotch-Irish Settlement in Virginia. 1912. By Lyman Chalkley. 3 vols. Rosslyn, Virginia : The Commonwealth Printing Co. Online at: RootsWeb, Google Books Vol 1 only, Hathitrust Vol 2 only. Volume 3 includes abstracts of Will Books 1-12; Volume 2 includes abstracts of administrator's bonds and guardian's bonds. Includes abstracts of tithables 1781 to 1784 on pp. 429-431.
  • 1782-1795 - Augusta County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1795. Online at: Tax List Club - Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782 - 1782 Augusta County, Virginia Tax Listing. 2012. By James L. Douthat. Signal Mountain, TN : Mountain Press. Online at: Free online surname index and publisher's bookstore.
  • 1782 - Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940. By Augusta B. Fothergill and John Mark Naugle. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, FHL 975.5 R4f 1978. 1782 personal property tax list of Augusta County.
  • 1782 - Tax List, 1782. Bath County Heritage Newsletter, Vol. 28, No. 4 (Winter 1998).
  • 1782 - Personal Property Tax List, 1782. Augusta Historical Bulletin, Vol. 12, No. 2 (Fall 1976).
  • 1782-3;1820-7; 1836-60; 1876-9; 1881-1900 - Augusta County Tax returns 1782-3;1820-7; 1836-60; 1876-9; 1881-1900. Online at: Virginia Pioneers ($).
  • 1782-1788 - Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist. Vol. 19, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1975):248-254; Vol. 21, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1977):113-118; Vol. 22, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1978):194-202; Vol. 22, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1978):279-286; Vol. 23, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1979):31-38; Vol. 23, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1979):113-119; Vol. 23, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1979):195-198. Online at: FHL, American Ancestors ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Augusta County's 1782-1785 [sic] Delinquent Lists appear on 22:194-202; 1786-1787 Delinquent Lists appear on 22:279-286 and 23:31-37; additional 1787 Delinquent List appears on 21:113-114; additional 1787 Delinquent List appears on 23:113-119; 1788 Delinquent List appears on 19:248-250 and 23:195-198.
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783. Online at: Revolutionary War Service.
  • 1787 - The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. c1987. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Augusta County is included in Vol. 1.
  • 1784-1800 - Tax List, 1784-1800: Men to French Broad. Smoky Mountain Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 4, No. 6 (Dec. 1978).
  • 1790, 1800 Indexed images of the 1790 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Augusta County, Virginia - Binns Genealogy.
  • 1796-1820 - Augusta County Personal Property Tax List 1796-1820. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • 1800 - Augusta County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 6, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1962):75-80; Vol. 6, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1962):113-120; Vol. 6, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1962):157-163. Online at: American Ancestors ($), FHL 975.5 B2vg.
  • 1815 - 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). By Roger D. Ward. c1997. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. FHL 975 E4w. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Augusta County is included in Vol. 5.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Indexes to Augusta County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]
  • 1853-1874 - Augusta County Birth Index 1853-1874. Batch C868473.[18]

Beth Fridley has published the following databases online at Ancestry:

  • Augusta County, Virginia Births, 1862-75. Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Augusta County, Virginia Births, 1876-79. Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Augusta County, Virginia Births, 1880-87. Online at: Ancestry ($).
  • Augusta County, Virginia Births, 1888-96. Online at: Ancestry ($).
Marriage[edit | edit source]
  • 1749-1773, 1785-1793 - Early Virginia Marriages. 1953. By William Armstrong Crozier. Baltimore, MD : Southern Book Co. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online. Includes marriages performed by Rev. John Brown 1785-1793 and Augusta County marriages 1749-1773.
  • 1749-1799 - Augusta County, VAGenWeb includes abstracts of marriage book 1, marriages 1700-1799, and marriages from Chalkley's Chronicles.
  • 1749-1799 - Chronicles of the Scotch-Irish Settlement in Virginia. 1912. By Lyman Chalkley. 3 vols. Rosslyn, Virginia : The Commonwealth Printing Co. Online at: RootsWeb, Google Books Vol 1 only, Hathitrust Vol 2 only. Volume 3 includes abstracts of Will Books 1-12; Volume 2 includes abstracts of administrator's bonds and guardian's bonds. Some early marriages (groom only list) 1748-1788 are found in Volume 2; these records were copied from a clerk's record book that was lost some time after the author transcribed the list in 1912. The original list was the clerk's record of marriage license payments and the date of the payment.
  • 1785-1813 - First Marriage Record of Augusta County, Virginia, 1785-1813. 1962. By Col. Thomas Hughart Chapter, D.A.R. Baltimore, MD : Clearfield Company by Genealogical lPublishing Co. Online at: Ancestry ($), FHL US/CAN Book 975.5916 V2f 1962.
  • 1785-1887 - Augusta County Marriage Index 1785-1887. Batch M868472.
  • 1854-1900 - Augusta County Marriage Index 1854-1900. Batch M868473.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]

The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available at FamilySearch. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.


Augusta County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Augusta County, Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]

Augusta County Virginia Genealogy References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://www.co.augusta.va.us/visitors/history
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Augusta County, Virginia. Page 710 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Augusta County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
  4. USGS Map, Topozone.com
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 Augusta County, Virginia Heritage Book (Walworth Publishing Co., 1998), 43-45. FHL Book 975.5916 H2a.
  6. E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1978), 67-68. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
  7. Joseph A. Waddell, Annals of Augusta County, Virginia (Richmond, Va : William Ellis Jones, Book and Job Printer, 1886), 155.
  8. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 48. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  9. Lee A. Wallace, 5th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.:H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 40.
  10. David F. Riggs, 7th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 3.
  11. Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
  12. Richard B. Kleese, 23rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 118.
  13. Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.
  14. Robert J. Driver, 52nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 23 and supp.
  15. Roger U. Delauter, 62nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 41.
  16. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  17. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  18. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.