Audlem, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Audlem, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St James' Church, Audlem
|Poor Law Union||Nantwich|
|Registration District||Market Drayton; Nantwich|
|Parish registers: 1557|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1579|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
AUDLEM (St. James), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Nantwich, S. division of the county of Chester; comprising the townships of Audlem, Buerton, Hankelow, and Tittenley, part of Dodcot cum Wilkesley, and part of Newhall. There is a place of worship for Particular Baptists. 
Audlem, St. James the Great (C of E). An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Audlem, Buerton, Hankelow and Tittenley, with parts of Coole Pilate, Dodcott cum Wilkesley and Newhall (near Audlem). Registers of Baptisms 1557–1928, Marriages 1557–1923 and Burials 1557–1947 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office.
St James' Church, Audlem is in the village of Audlem in south Cheshire, England. The church dates from the late 13th century with additions in the 19th century.
Audlem is a large village and civil parish located in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire in the north west of England, approximately 11 km (7 miles) south of Nantwich. Close to the border with the neighbouring county of Shropshire, the village is eight miles (13 km) east of Whitchurch and seven miles (11 km) north of Market Drayton.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Audlem parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Audlem Online Parish Records|
|FMP Diocese PRs||1538-1911||1538-1910||1538-1911|
|FMP Diocese BTs||1576-1906||1576-1906||1576-1906|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.
Registers of baptisms 1878–1926 are at the Cheshire Record Office.Church records for the Primitive Methodist Church, Audlem, 1878-1926 Notes Microfilm of original filmed at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 246. Baptisms, 1878-1926 (title board incorrect). FHL BRITISH Film 2299417 Item 15
Church records for the Primitive Methodist Church,Audlem, 1878-1926
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
Congleton & Crewe (1974–88)
South Cheshire (1988–98)
Cheshire Central (post 1998)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Audlem on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 112-116. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.