Auckland St Anne, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Durham
Durham Parishes
Auckland St Anne

Guide to Auckland St Anne, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Auckland St Anne, Durham
Type Chapelry Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Auckland
Registration District Auckland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1855
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

Auckland St Anne chapelry was commissioned and a chapel of ease built by the year 1855. It stood within the ancient parish boundary of Auckland St Andrew, Durham (which also see).[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Auckland St Anne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Northumberland and Durham Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Durham Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
FS BTs = England, Durham Diocese Bishop's Transcripts, 1639-1919 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Marr Img = England, Durham Diocese Bishop's Transcripts, 1639-1919 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Marr = England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1692-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
Auckland St Anne Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1990
1538-1989
1538-2000
TGEN 1559-1800s
1558-1800s
1559-1800s
JOIN

1538-1837


FS BTs
1639-1919
1639-1919
1639-1919
FS Marr Img


1594-1815

FS Marr

1692-1900


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1560-1999
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.

Non Conformist Churches

Methodist

  •  Circuit Registers: Baptisms 1912-1936
  •  Circuit Registers (Primitive): Baptisms 1859-1945
  •  Circuit Registers (Wesleyan): Baptisms 1838-1962.
  •  Newgate (Unitarian): Baptisms 1934-1938, Marriages 1915-1959
  •  South Road (Unitarian): Baptisms 1905-1935

Unitarian:

  •  Baptisms 1876-1904

Roman Catholic

  •  St. Wilfred: Baptisms, marriages & burials 1849-1916

Society of Friends

  •  Bishop Auckland Preparative Meeting: 1715-1894

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Auckland Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Auckland St Anne (see Auckland St Andrew) on GENUKI

Bishop Auckland St Anne on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk