To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Attala County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Attala County, Mississippi)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Attala County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Kosciusko
Organized: 23 December 1833
Parent County(s): Choctaw Cession
Neighboring Counties
Carroll  • Choctaw  • Holmes  • Leake  • Madison  • Montgomery  • Neshoba  • Winston  • Yazoo
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiAttalaCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Attala County.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

This county was named for Atala, a fictional Native American heroine from an early-19th-century novel of the same name by François-René de Chateaubriand. Attala County is located in the center area of the state.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Attala County Courthouse
230 W Washington Street
Kosciusko, MS 39090-0000
Phone: 662-289-2921
Attala County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records.
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate and land records and old newspapers.[2]

Attala County, Mississippi Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1 Nov 1912 1892 1 Nov 1912 1858 1858 1858 1810
Statewide registration started in Nov 1912 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1921.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1858, 1860, 1896 Some records were lost.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1833 Attala County was created 23 December 1833 as part of the Choctaw Cession.
  • County seat: Kosciusko[4]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1643-1947) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Native American communities
Ghost towns

‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

23 December 1833: Attala County becomes Mississippi's 16th county.

28 July 1858: The Attala County Courthouse burned down, and all county records were lost. (This is why no records before August 1858 can be found in Attala County.)

July 1860: Another Attala County Courthouse fire happened. (No records were burned in this fire; that said, there were few records since there because of the last fire.)

26 July 1896: The Attala County Courthouse caught on fire. (Only some records were lost now. Marriage records specifically were lost.)

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Attala County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Attala County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

State Census

Federal Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Attala County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Carroll CountyMontgomery CountyChoctaw CountyWinston CountyNeshoba CountyLeake CountyMadison CountyYazoo CountyHolmes CountyMS ATTALA.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Attala County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Attala County:

- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry Reserves
Company F - Shipp’s Company
- 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry [became the 48th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry]
Company - Rocky Point Rifles, aka Rocky Point Rifle Company
- 48th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry [from the 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry]
Company B - Rocky Point Rifles, aka Rocky Point Rifle Company
- 4th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company B - Attala Yellow Jackets
Company K - Center Marksmen
- 5th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company E - Love’s Company
Company I - Turner’s Company
- 11th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company C - Buford’s Company

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the Attala County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Attala County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

All birth records for the state of Mississippi must be ordered through the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. There is no separate database with any birth dates or birth certificates available.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

All death records for the state of Mississippi must be ordered through the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. There is no separate database with death dates or death certificates available, save the one listed below for people that died in Attala County in 1884.

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Attala Historical Society
    Mary Ricks Thornton Cultural Center
    P. O. Box 127
    Kosciusko, MS 39090
    Website
  • Northeast Mississippi Historical & Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 434
    Tupelo, MS 38801
    Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Attala, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Attala_County,_Mississippi."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Attala County, Mississippi . Page 378-384 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 379-381.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Attala County, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Attala_County,_Mississippi, Last accessed 2 September 2019.