Atchison County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Atchison County

Guide to Atchison County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Rock Port
Organized: February 23, 1843
Parent County(s): Holt[1]
Neighboring Counties
Fremont (IA)  • Holt  • Nemaha (NE)  • Nodaway  • Otoe (NE)  • Page (IA)  • Richardson (NE)
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriAtchisonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Atchison County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for David Rice Atchison. The county has Rock Port as its seat and the county was created February 14, 1845. The County is located in the northwestern area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

Atchison County Courthouse
P.O. Box 280
400 South Washington Street
Rock Port, MO 64482
Phone: 660-744-6214
Atchison County Website

County Recorder has marriage and land records.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records.
County Clerk has birth records 1883-1893.
Probate Judge has probate records.[3]

Atchison County, Missouri Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1845 1883 1845 1845 1845 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1843 Allen County (later renamed Atchison County) was created 23 February 1843 from Holt County.
  • 1845 Allen County was renamed to Atchison County in 1845.
  • County seat: Rock Port[5]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Atchison County, Missouri:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from History of Holt and Atchison Counties Internet Archive

  • The earliest inhabitants of what is now Missouri were Indians.
  • The first non indians to lay claim to what is now Missouri were the French
  • 1768 - Spain became the "owners" of the area.
  • 1800 October 1 - Spain ceded this area back to France
  • 1803 October 31 - France ceded this territory to the USA.
  • 1821 August 10 - Missouri became a state.
  • 1836 - The "Platte Purchase" was made with the Indians.
  • 1839 - The first white settler to settle in what is now Atchison County.
  • 1843 February 23 - Atchison County was organized.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Atchison County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Atchison County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Atchison County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

A Biographical History of Nodaway and Atchison counties, Missouri compendium of national biography (1901) is available online free from Google Books. Part I contains biographies of national celebrities. Part II (starts on p.219) contains biographies of Atchison and Nodaway county residents.

  • Van Leuven, Audrey. Early times of Atchison County, Missouri : being a collection of items taken mostly from old newspapers of early da ys in Atchison County, Missouri. Some are historical, some are amusing, all are interesting, 1838-1932. [S.l. : s.n.], 1984.
  • The History of Holt and Atchison counties, Missouri : containing a history of these counties, their cities, towns, etc., etc., biographical sketches of their citizens, general and local statistics ... history of Miss. Tucson, Arizona : W.C. Cox, 1974.

Maps and Gazetteers

{{{county}}}

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Atchison County, Missouri for European and African American settlers included:

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments
Service men in Atchison County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Atchison County, Missouri:

-3rd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company L
- 58th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 58th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 58th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 58th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 58th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 58th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Detached Company
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company C
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Atchison County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Northwest Missouri Genealogical Society
    412 Felix Street
    St. Joseph, MO 64501
    Mailing Address:
    P.O. Box 382
    St. Joseph, MO 64502
    Phone: 816-233-0524
  • Atchison County Historical Society
    210 South Main Street
    Rock Port, MO 64482
    Phone: 660-744-5800

Websites

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Atchison County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atchison_County,_Missouri, accessed 18 Sept 2018.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Atchinson County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map I" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap1.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://www.octa-trails.org/learn/virtual-trail (accessed 20 July 2016).
  8. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).